Award Criteria

The Honor Scholar Award is presented to the one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by the Fall term. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 7.0 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of the Fall term. The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by department, school or college including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring and leadership in discipline based student organizations.

2010 Recipients

College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters                                  


Anthropology: Leeann Drees     

Art History: Amanda Walter                                                       

Behavioral Sciences: Anna Valk 

Biochemistry: Stephen Yu

Biological Sciences: Nina Cole

Chemistry: Naro A. Babaian

Chemistry Instructional: Kristen A. Hutchens

Communications: Lindsay Steele                                                                              

Criminal Justice Studies: Manal Nasser                                                                  

Economics: Dimitry Ansolis

English: Charday Ward

Environmental Science: Edward Cable                                                                   

Environmental Studies: Natalie Ray                                                        

French Studies: Ilma Leka            

General Studies: Jennifer McNally

Health Policy Studies: Amy Topolewski

Hispanic Studies: Alison F. Crow

History: Lisa Geldys        

International Studies: Anna S. Williams 

Liberal Studies: Michael Cherney                                                                         

Mathematics and Statistics: Rebecca Wilczak

Microbiology: Ganj Ahmad                                                                        

Philosophy: Eric Hendricks

Physics: Rebecca Wilczak             

Political Science: Joshua Arsenault                                          

Psychology: Mark Rossi

Social Studies: Reyna Esquivel-King

Sociology: Ashleigh Hodge

Urban and Regional Studies: Eric S. Nyquist

Women’s and Gender Studies: Leeann Drees

Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: Michael Meade

Graduate Program in Environmental Science: Gerald J. Yarema 

Graduate Program in Liberal Studies: Jennifer Czajkowski

Graduate Program in Psychology: Jamie Johnson

Graduate Program in Public Administration: Kathy Irwin

Graduate Program in Public Policy: Jacqueline C. Cardella


School of Education


Bachelor of Arts in Education (Social Studies): Nabila V. Ikram                                    

Bachelor of Science in Education (Science Studies): Lyndsey D. Berry

Bachelor of Arts in Special Education: Chantel A. Cunningham

Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood: Stefanie A. Partin

Bachelor of Arts in General Studies (Children & Families): Tandy A. Jurgensen

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Mathematic Studies): Caitlin F. Kefgen

Graduate Program in Education: Sara A. Anderson

Graduate Program in Arts, Education and Leadership: Karla M. Winick- Ford

Graduate Program in Special Education: Nancy E. Fink                                    

Graduate Program in Science Education: Megan M. Whitmore

Graduate Program in Teaching: Susan R. Gavell


College of Engineering and Computer Science                  


Computer Engineering: Matthew Ernest Hartzel

Computer and Information Science: Margaret Pearce

Electrical Engineering: Aamir Hussain     

Industrial and Systems Engineering: Nicole Witkowski

Manufacturing Engineering: Andrew Resovsky

Mechanical Engineering: Kaitlyn F. Mallet                                

Software Engineering: Dmitriy Ansolis

Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering: Martin Dale Pryor          

Graduate Program in Computer Engineering: Yan Yang

Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science: Noufil Alawami

Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering: Andrew James Gribas

Graduate Program in Engineering Management: Rimma Isayeva

Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Engineering: Tyler Boger

Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology: Jodie Broadwater                 

Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering: Shamsuddin Noorani                       

Graduate Program in Software Engineering: Vineela Somisetty 


College of Business         


Finance: Derek Smith

Financial Accounting and Reporting: Angela Beaty

Human Resource Management: Brittany Danhoff

Information Technology Management: Nader Kishek

Management: Mary Maniaci

Marketing: Kimberly Doherty                                                                  

Graduate Program in Accounting: Peter M. Meidanis

Graduate Program in Business Administration: Jesse A. Sheldon

Graduate Program in Finance: Katherine R. Suarez