Faculty Fellow Development Program

Since the Fall of 2006, the Civic Engagement Project has sponsored an Academic Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Development program. During the Fellows Program, faculty members engage in readings and discussion on methods to implement ASL in their courses. Faculty members meet once a month during the academic year. Faculty Fellows will then each teach a course with a significant ASL component the following academic year.

Faculty members are given a $1,000 stipend for participating in the program. The Civic Engagement Project provides assistance and additional resources that the Fellows might need both throughout the development program as well as during the teaching of the respective courses regarding course design, community partnering, reflection exercises, and project evaluation.

Apply to be be a Faculty Fellow, 2015-2015.  Click here for an application, due April 4th.

Faculty Fellows, past and present

2013-2014 Faculty Fellows

Emily Matthews Luxon, Political Science

Emily Saarinen, Biological Sciences

Jamie Wraight, History

Julia Daniel Walkuski, Head Systems Librarian

Kevin Kobelsky, Accounting

Kirsten Dara Hill, Reading and Language Arts

Sally Howell, History

Tim Davis, Director of iLabs

2012-2013 Faculty Fellows

Danielle DeFauw, School of Education

Francine Dolins, Psychology

Hafiz Malik, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Marilee Benore, Biochemistry and Biology

Marshall Hunt, College of Business

Nita Sethuraman, Psychology

Patricia Hartshorn, Biological Sciences

Stephen A. Weatherholt, Special Education

2011-2012 Faculty Fellows

Cathy Miller, Writing Program

David Susko, Natural Sciences

Hani Bawardi, Social Sciences

Jamie Ward, Communication

Jennifer Proctor, Communication

Jennifer Siegel, Literature Philosophy and the Arts

John Cristiano, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Philip Potvin, Writing Program

Stein Brunvand, School of Education

2010-2011 Faculty Fellows

Carolyn Kraus, Humanities/ Journalism

Gail Luera, School of Education

James Gilmore, Language Culture and Communication

Joann Riley, Composition

Kristi Stewart, Composition

Maureen Linker, Philosophy

Nehal Patel, Behavioral Sciences-Criminal Justice

Richard Rischar, Multi-media and Music

2009-2010 Faculty Fellows

Bonnie Halloran, Anthropology

Bruce Maxim, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Chris Burke, School of Education

Crystal Scott, College of Business

Jorge Gonzalez del Pozo, Spanish

Lara Rusch, Political Science

Nancy Kursman, Political Science

2008-2009 Faculty Fellows

James Gruber, Sociology

Laura Woodruff, School of Education

Pam Aronson, Sociology

Susan Sheth, Communications

Tija Spitsberg, Composition


2007-2008 Faculty Fellows

Bruce Pietrykowski, Economics

Karen Thomas Brown, School of Education

Liz Rohan, Composition

Mike Callahan, College of Business

2006-2007 Faculty Fellows

Bill DeGenaro, Composition

Brian McKenna, Anthropology

Joy Beatty, College of Business

Katie Silverman, School of Education

Paul Draus, Sociology

Troy Murphy, Communication