Congratulations to CASL faculty receiving Distinguished Awards

News Item

Congratulations to the following CASL faculty for receiving University of Michigan-Dearborn Distinguished Awards. Each recipient will be formally recognized at the Honors Scholars and Faculty Awards ceremony on March 25.

Distinguished Teaching Awards:  

  • Pamela Pennock, Social Sciences - Tenured
  • Jack Nelson, Natural Sciences - Lecturer

The Distinguished Teaching Award is given to faculty members whose teaching record illustrates effectiveness in the classroom and the revitalization of courses and curriculum; interaction with students outside the classroom, as mentor, advisor, or group participant; professional growth as a teacher; and, commitment to undergraduate or graduate education. Generally, three awards are given annually-tenured, non-tenured and supplemental faculty.

Distinguished Service Award:

  • Joan Remski, Mathematics

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity, dedication, and a long-term positive impact on the campus over a significant period of time; and/or application of professional expertise to benefit the public good and whose work increases the visibility or enhances the reputation of UM-Dearborn. One award is given annually.