Graduate Scholarships & Financial Aid

The University of Michigan-Dearborn has a long-standing commitment to making higher education affordable.  We encourage our graduate students to explore each of the following resources:

Scholarship for Non-Michigan Residents

The Non-Residential Tuition Scholarship covers 80% of the difference between the tuition rates charged to Michigan and non-Michigan residents.  Students must meet GMAT, GPA, and other criteria listed on the application form. If you qualify, you may receive this award for as many as the number of credits required in your degree program.  The application deadline is the first day of classes each semester.

College of Business Donor-funded Scholarships

The following scholarships are available to current graduate students in the College of Business.

The deadline to apply for these scholarships is March 10, 2014.

  • The Rebecca Ann Campbell Memorial Scholarship was established in 2007 by Rebecca’s parents, William and Doris Campbell.  Rebecca earned her BSA from UM-Dearborn in 1989, and the degree was the starting point for her career in information technology.  Rebecca’s parents honor her memory through this scholarship.  It provides varying awards based on the applicant’s need and merit, and it is open to students in any discipline in the College of Business. 
  • The Hartmann Family Entrepreneurship Scholarship awards up to $1500 per year to College of Business students who are Michigan residents and have an interest in entrepreneurial studies and business ownership. Graduate applicants must be in good academic standing, be enrolled in at least 4 credits per award term, and have a GPA of at least 6.0. Recipients are usually awarded $750 in each of two semesters, provided they maintain a satisfactory GPA and remain in good academic standing. Applicants must provide a one-page statement that explains their interest in entrepreneurial studies and business ownership and describes how the scholarship will help him or her accomplish specific academic and career goals. 
  • The Bruce Klimek Scholarship was established in 1985 in memory of Bruce Klimek (’83 BBA) by his parents, Ernest and Mary Klimek. Scholarships of approximately $1,000 are awarded to students with junior standing or higher, a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, majoring in accounting and demonstrating an interest in obtaining their CPA. The scholarship may not be received in conjunction with any other accounting scholarship.
  • The Detroit Chapter of the Tax Executives Institute (TEI) generously funds one $2500 scholarship to a graduate or undergraduate student pursuing an accounting degree with a concentration in taxation.  The student must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5.

University-wide Scholarships

You may apply for several additional graduate scholarships offered through the Office of Financial Aid.

Federal Financial Aid

United States citizens and permanent residents may apply for need-based federal financial aid.  Complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). For more information about Federal Financial Aid programs, please contact the Office of Financial Aid.

External Scholarships lists many scholarships available to MS-Finance students.