Tuition & Fee Payment Policy
Each term tuition notices will be sent to your student campus email address with links to your on-line student account. Failure to receive an official university tuition and fee bill/e-notification does not relieve any student of responsibility for payment by the due dates. Account balances can be verified by accessing "Account Summary by Term" on the University Web site. Tuition and fee rates are subject to change by the Regents of the University. Paying tuition and fees in advance will not exempt students from changes in tuition and fee rates. Tuition and fees assessed are payable in full by the established deadline for each term. Payments are payable on-line or at the Cashiers/Student Accounts Office (located in Room 1187 UC).
Tuition and Fee Due Dates:
Summer 2014: 100% of tuition and fees is due on or before May 21, 2014
Fall 2014: 100% of tuition and fees is due on or before September 17, 2014
Winter 2015: 100% of tuition and fees is due on or before January 21, 2015
A $30 late payment fee will be assessed if payment is not received by the scheduled due date (see Tuition Due Dates above). Additional late payment fines will continue on the third Wednesday of each month thereafter on any unpaid balance.
The University of Michigan-Dearborn will accept payments in person of cash, personal checks, and money orders. On-line payment options also include credit cards (MasterCard, Discover, Visa, and American Express) via TouchNet Pay Path, a third party online payment service. A 2.75% non-refundable service charge will apply. ACH payments by checking or savings may be made online with no additional fees.
∑ In person payments of checks and money orders must include the student's ID number to ensure prompt and correct credit to their student account. Tuition payments by check or money order may be made as follows: (1) at the Cashiers/Student Accounts Office during their regular office hours, (2) at any time deposited in the Cashiers/Student Accounts drop box (located on the exterior wall, northwest corner of the building), or (3) mailed to the Cashiers/Student Accounts Office. Students must allow at least ten (10) business days for Postal Service delivery prior to the due date. Please address all mail as follows:
The University of Michigan-Dearborn
Cashiers/Student Accounts Office
1187 University Center
Dearborn, MI 48128-2406
A $25.00 charge is applied to all returned checks, money orders, and all ACH transactions. In addition, returned checks and money orders related to hold credit releases and registration will result in disenrollment. Returned checks that are not paid within 10 days are subject to the Wayne County Prosecuting Attorney's Check Enforcement Program.
∑ MasterCard, Visa, Discover, and American Express are accepted for tuition payments through TouchNet Pay Path, a third party online payment service. A 2.75% non-refundable service charge will apply. Credit card tuition payments are accepted on the University Web site by using the following steps: (a) go to myaccount.umd.umich.edu, (b) login using your University ID and PIN, (c) go to the "Payments" tab, (d) select your payment amount or select "Pay," (e) select Credit Card via PayPath, (f) follow directions posted.
(In the event a refund is issued for a term with a credit card payment, the refund must be issued to the credit card up to the total amount of the credit card payment[s])
∑ ACH payments by checking or savings are now available on-line with no added fees by using the on-line instructions for credit cards listed above.
RECEIPTS CANNOT BE MAILED FOR PAYMENTS NOT MADE IN PERSON
The University of Michigan-Dearborn provides a program for current terms available at the Cashiers/Student Accounts Self Service website. Students enrolled in this program will have their tuition and fees divided into equal installments due on fixed dates once a month. Questions regarding those payments should be directed to email@example.com. Enrollment dates and other Information about the program are available at myaccount.umd.umich.edu. The main payment plan description has been summarized below:
- The standard current term payment plan expects students to pay multiple equal installments of his or her tuition balance. One installment is due on the following dates:
Winter 2015 4 Month Payment Plan
- December 17, 2014
- January 21, 2015
- February 18, 2015
- March 18, 2015
Winter 2015 3 Month Payment Plan
- January 21, 2015
- February 18, 2015
- March 18, 2015
The final installment may be slightly larger than the others if the value cannot be divided evenly.
- A down payment is not required when enrolling in a payment plan on or before the 100% due date. However, a down payment may be required if qualifying students enroll in a payment plan after a 100% tuition & fees due date. A setup fee must be paid online to complete registration for the payment plan. The setup fee is traditionally $40.00 if enrolling before the 100% due date and $75.00 when enrolling after the 100% due date.
- Most payment plan deadlines are extended beyond the first installment date to grant additional time to enroll. When enrolling in the payment plan after the first installment date, the student must pay the first installment along with the Setup Fee online at the time of registration.
- Enrollment for the Winter 2015 4 Month Payment Plan ends January 2, 2015.
- Enrollment for the Winter 2015 3 Month Payment Plan ends January 21, 2015.
Sponsored Students Terms and Conditions
Students whose tuition and fees are to be paid by an employer, agency, or other sponsor, must have authorization on file with the Cashiers/Student Accounts office. Vouchers are posted onto student accounts the week of the 100% tuition and fees deadline.
If you are receiving other forms of Financial Aid, it is important that you include the voucher information to the Office of Financial Aid so that it is calculated in your financial aid package.
You will not see your voucher or Letter of Authorization to Bill post to your account until after the drop/add period has ended. Qualifying credit balances can be refunded after drop/add.
Late payment fees will not be waived for vouchers submitted after the term has ended.
Students sponsored by No Worker Left Behind may receive a (compensation/comp card) credit card to make tuition payments. This method of sponsorship payment is not endorsed by University of Michigan-Dearborn. Students who make a credit card payment and also receive financial aid will have refunds returned to the credit card that made the tuition payment. If a refund is returned to a No Worker Left Behind credit card, contact the No Worker Left Behind branch to seek reimbursement.
If you receive a (comp card) credit card from No Worker Left Behind and receive financial aid, do not make a tuition payment. Tell your No Worker Left Behind branch to contact Cashiers/Student Accounts at 313-593-5255 to discuss our sponsorship invoicing system.
∑ Summer Term
Certifications for the Veterans Administration are processed after the Summer Full Drop/Add period in May and again after the Drop/Add period in July.
Financial Aid Students
Students who have applied for financial aid are subject to and liable for any and all fines applied to their student account if financial aid is denied, reversed, or covers less than 50% of tuition and fees. Students may request refunds of payments made to avoid late payment fees once financial aid is applied.
Using Michigan Education Trust (MET)
The Michigan Education Trust (MET) differs from Michigan Education Savings Plan (MESP) and other 529 savings plans. MET allows families to buy credits to pay for public colleges and universities. MET is Michiganís guaranteed tuition program to pre-purchase undergraduate tuition and mandatory fee expenses.
∑ The Cashiers/Student Accounts Office administers the MET Program at the University of Michigan-Dearborn.
∑ If you have a MET contract, you will need to complete and submit Form 3181 Notice to Use MET Benefits or go online to activate MET.
∑ Students must notify MET of their intent to attend University of Michigan-Dearborn prior to the beginning of their first term of attendance.
∑ MET will record the college, semester and year for the student enrolled.
∑ A roster will be sent to the college each semester to allow the invoicing of tuition and mandatory fees as long as the student is eligible for MET benefits.
∑ MET will not pay for lab fees or course fees.
∑ No additional requests to use MET funds are required (unless there is a change).
∑ If you have financial aid, scholarships or grants and would like MET to cover your entire tuition and receive a refund, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org so your request can be processed.
∑ Call MET at 800-638-4543 for assistance on Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
Using Michigan Education Savings Program (MESP) and Other 529 Plans
The Michigan Education Savings Program (MESP) and other 529 Plans differ from the Michigan Education Trust (MET) Program. MET allows families to buy credits to pay for public colleges and universities. If a student does not attend a Michigan public school, the student is eligible for a refund of the investment. MESP and standard 529 Plans allow flexibility in the use of the funds and is more like a savings plan.
∑ MESP and other 529 Plans are administered by the Cashiers/Student Accounts Office.
∑ MESP is a savings plan that grows from regular contributions and investment growth. For additional information about MESP, call 877-861-6377 or access the website at www.misaves.com.
∑ Whether you have a MESP or another 529 account, you must contact the investment firm when you are ready to use the fund for educational and related expenses.
∑ The distribution from the investment firm can be sent directly to or dropped off at the Cashiers/Student Accounts Office at the university.
∑ The amount of the check should be the amount that the student owes to the university for tuition and fees.
∑ The funds must arrive on or before the tuition due date to avoid late fees.
∑ MESP or the investment firm must be contacted each time a distribution is needed for educational or related expenses.
Hold Credits and Delinquent Accounts
Students with Student Accounts Holds on their account will not be permitted to register for any further courses or receive transcripts. STUDENT ACCOUNTING HOLDS MAY ONLY BE RELEASED BY PAYMENT IN FULL IN CERTIFIED FUNDS. Students referred to a professional collection agency will be responsible for all collection fees.
Students with Collection Holds (previously placed with a Collection Agency) who intend to register for the current term must pay for any prior term balances as well as full tuition and fees for the current term in advance of registration.
Refunds are typically mailed as a check to the permanent address on file with the Registrarís Office. Students can elect to have their refund issued faster through direct deposit (E-Refunds) by registering their personal checking or savings account in a Payment Profile at the Cashiers/Student Accounts Self Service website.
If a refund is issued for a term with a credit card payment or a Parent Plus Loan payment, the refund must be issued to the credit card or a mailed check issued to the studentís parents respectively. Parents who apply for a Parent Plus Loan may elect refunds to go to the student. Direct deposit e-refunds are not available for parent plus loan refunds issued to a parent.
Click here to make a payment via the web
Scan or tap the QR code with your smartphone to make a payment via the mobile web