University of Michigan Dearborn

The UM-Dearborn Faculty Senate

The UM-Dearborn faculty governance structure established by Campus Bylaws in 1993 consists of three bodies:

The UM-Dearborn Faculty Senate is composed of 19 elected faculty representatives with three-year terms, plus ten ex-officio members including the Chancellor, the Provost, the Student Government president, one emeritus at-large faculty member, two LEO-at-large representatives, and the campus's four representatives to the University-wide Senate Assembly. The Senate serves as the legislative arm of the Faculty Congress, and it is authorized to make recommendations to the Chancellor, Provost, and Board of Regents. Actions of the Senate have the effect of an action of the Faculty Congress unless they are revoked by Congress. The Senate normally meets once a month from September through June.

The UM-Dearborn Faculty Senate Council is composed of the Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate, four elected Senate members, and the Chancellor and Provost. (The Council membership must include at least one Senate member from each academic unit.) The Council acts as an agent of the Senate and advises the Chancellor and Provost on an interim basis until matters requiring Senate action can be placed before the Senate or Faculty Congress. The Council also serves as a liaison between the Senate and the Chancellor and Provost. The Council normally meets twice a month from September through June.

The UM-Dearborn  Faculty Congress is composed of the governing faculty and deans of the schools and colleges, the senior officers of the campus, and the professional librarians and curators. It is authorized to consider any subject pertaining to the interests of the campus and to make recommendations to the Chancellor and the Board of Regents. The Faculty Congress normally meets once or twice a year. 


The University Senate - Ann Arbor

Currently Dearborn is apportioned five representatives on the University Senate Assembly who are elected to serve three-year terms by annual vote on the Dearborn campus.  This body meets in Ann Arbor on the third Monday of each month during fall and winter terms.

The Bylaws of the Regents of the University of Michigan (Section 4.01) define the membership of the University Senate as all members of the professorial staff, the executive officers of the university, the deans of the schools and colleges, such members of the research and library staff as may be designated in accordance with standards and procedures approved by the Senate Assembly, and such other major officers as may be designated by the Board of Regents from time to time.  This body is inclusive of all campuses of the University of Michigan, including Dearborn.

The Regents have designated the University-wide representative body in Bylaw 4.03:

There shall be a Senate Assembly which shall consist of seventy-four senate members apportioned among the various schools and colleges according to the number of senate members in each school or college.

The Ann Arbor Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) is the executive committee for the University-wide Senate Assembly.  If elected, a person qualified for the Senate Assembly (including representatives from Dearborn and Flint) may serve on SACUA for a three-year term.  This election is held annually in the University Senate meeting held in Ann Arbor near the end of the winter term; all members of the governing faculty of the University of Michigan are invited to vote in that election.  Candidates for SACUA are invited to provide a picture and statement that is printed in the University Record, although nominations from the floor are allowed on the day of the vote.

Some confusion arises from the different uses of "Senate" and "Senate Assembly" between Dearborn and the University as a whole.  By Regents' Bylaw, the entire governing faculty for the University as a whole is described as "the University Senate" and the representative body is called the "Senate Assembly."  On the Dearborn campus, the governing faculty of our campus is described as "Faculty Congress" and the representative body is called the "Faculty Senate."  The Dearborn Faculty Senate and Faculty Congress are not prescribed by the Regents' Bylaws but were formed in agreement with the senior officers of the University of Michigan-Dearborn.  The Flint campus has a different faculty governance structure altogether.

News & Announcements


Chair Kiska's Podcast with President Mark Schlissel 

PowerPoint "Bridging the Generational Divide" Dr. Meadows Presentation