UM-Dearborn is first school in Michigan to create chapter of the Tau Sigma National Honor Society

June 16, 2009

DEARBORN / June 16, 2009---The University of Michigan-Dearborn has established a campus chapter of Tau Sigma National Honor Society, an academic honor society designed specifically to recognize and promote the academic excellence and involvement of transfer students.

UM-Dearborn is the first school in Michigan to form a chapter, according to Christopher Tremblay, director of admissions and orientation.

“This is a great way for students who are in Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at their community college to continue their academic excellence and be recognized by a four-year school” Tremblay said.

"We're very excited that UM-Dearborn has established the first Tau Sigma chapter in the state of Michigan,” said L. Lee Colquitt, executive director of Tau Sigma.  “I am confident that this chapter will be a great partner to the University in their efforts to serve the transfer population there.”

More than 225 transfer students were eligible for induction.  To be considered for the society, students must transfer to UM-Dearborn from another academic institution with at least one full year’s academic credits at the prior institution.  Students also must be registered for 12 credit hours at UM-Dearborn.  The minimum academic average required for membership is a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

Thirty students will be inducted into the society during a ceremony on June 25 at the Henry Ford Estate.  The society also will induct honorary members, including Daniel Little, UM-Dearborn chancellor; Gail Mee, president of Henry Ford Community College; David Nixon, president of Monroe County Community College; Conway Jeffress, Schoolcraft College president; Larry Whitworth, Washtenaw Community College president; Curtis Ivery, Wayne County Community College District chancellor; James Jacobs, Macomb Community College president, Timothy Meyer, Oakland Community College chancellor.

“Throughout our 50-year history, the University of Michigan-Dearborn has welcomed transfer students,” said Stanley E. Henderson, vice chancellor for enrollment management and student life.  “When we began in 1959, we were entirely a transfer university and today more than 50 percent of our new students each year are transfer students.  They bring leadership and experience that enrich our campus community.  We are delighted to celebrate their achievements through the state’s first Tau Sigma chapter.”

For more information about the Tau Sigma National Honor Society at UM-Dearborn, visit



CONTACT: Jennifer Thelen
PHONE: 313-593-5644
The Office of University Relations
Room 1040, Administration Building
University of Michigan-Dearborn