Award Criteria

The Honor Scholar Award is presented to the one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by the Fall term. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 7.0 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of the Fall term. The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by department, school or college including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring and leadership in discipline based student organizations.

2008 Recipients



American Studies: Aimee D’Agostini

Anthropology: Rebecca L. Swindler  

Art History: Tracy M. Frattarelli

Behavioral Sciences: Kathleen Engelman

Biochemistry: Alecia Kupser

Biological Sciences: Holly Sobczak

Chemistry: Nadia Petlakh

Communications: Yumiko Kitahara

Criminal Justice Studies: Alexander V. Kaminsky

Earth Sciences: Hayat Shebak

Economics: Maurice Kevin Taylor

English: Sarah C. Wright

Environmental Science: Andrew Gougherty

Environmental Studies: Emily R. Johnson

French Studies : Tina Simcox

General Studies: Megan A. Lizbinski

Health Policy Studies: Ain P. Boone

Hispanic Studies: Theresa Marie Miessner

History: Adam Hoffman

Humanities: Michael J. Peacock

International Studies: Emily Patterson

Liberal Studies: Carly Lauren Hool

Mathematics and Statistics: Toni Vellmure

Microbiology: Rachel Wallen

Philosophy: Michael P. Combs

Physics: Lindsay Runyan

Political Science: Sarah C. Wright

Psychology: Brennan George Pearson

Sociology: Anuja Garg

Urban and Regional Studies: Bryant Holly

Women’s and Gender Studies: Erin Byrnes

Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: Christos Kyrtsos

Graduate Program in Environmental Science: Glenn Adamus

Graduate Program in Liberal Studies: Scott Warrow

Graduate Program in Public Administration: Carol Oliver

Graduate Program in Public Policy: Rebecca P. Wenglinski




Bachelor of Arts in Education (Social Studies): Danielle Temple                            

Bachelor of Science in Education (Science): Abeer Savage

Graduate Program in Education: Jill Guinn

Graduate Program in Special Education: Jade Morgan

Graduate Program in Science Education: Denise Ochmanek

Graduate Program in Teaching: Sarah B. Miller




Computer Engineering: Scott R. Lytle

Computer and Information Science (Computer Science Option): Michael Hardy

Computer and Information Science (Information Systems Option): Chuan-Gang Xie

Electrical Engineering: Lawrence Chan

Industrial and Systems Engineering: Patrick VanDeneede

Manufacturing Engineering: Christopher Stuhr

Mechanical Engineering: Nathan Michael Stewart

Software Engineering: Aaron Curley

Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering: Nimrod Kapas     

Graduate Program in Computer Engineering: Anthony Adamczyk

Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science: Kristine Towne

Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering: Claudiu Beu

Graduate Program in Engineering Management: Andrew Bush

Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Engineering: Matthew Hartley

Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology: Hadi Rahal                           

Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering: Jeffrey Ryan Zimmerman

Graduate Program in Software Engineering: Vineela Somisetty




Controllership: Peter Meidanis

Finance: Michael Kiel

Financial Accounting and Reporting: Todd Allen

Management: Kerry Thompson

Management Information Systems: Heba Abouarabi

Marketing: Stephanie Lezell                                                                                     

Graduate Program in Accounting: Robert S. Muery

Graduate Program in Business Administration: Jennifer S. Rose

Graduate Program in Finance: Jonathan M. Wu

Dual Degree Graduate Program in Business Administration and Finance: Meltem O. Rodriguez

Dual Degree Graduate Program in Business Administration and Industrial and Systems Engineering: Gabriel D. Boice