Award Critera

The Honor Scholar Award is presented each year to the one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by Fall term. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 7.0 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of Fall term. The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by department, school or college including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring and leadership in discipline based student organizations.

2011 Recipients

College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters                                  


American Studies: Ian Holme

Anthropology: Laura Burgher    

Art History: Brittany Johns                                                          

Behavioral Sciences: Megan Sheeran     

Biochemistry: Imam Harris

Biological Sciences: Racha El-Ladki

Chemistry: Elissa Grzincic

Communications: Lesley Riordan                                                                             

Criminal Justice Studies: Katelyn M. Dezsi                                                                            

Earth Science: Jennifer Forrester

Economics: Michael El-Zein

English: Nabilah Khachab

Environmental Science: Joseph Wilczak                                                                                

Environmental Studies: Michael Hoose                                                 

French Studies: Nicole Uveges  

General Studies: Richard Buckley

Health Policy Studies: Memoona Malik

Hispanic Studies: Emma Slonina

History: Courtney Deane

International Studies: Evan Belknap       

Liberal Studies: Andrea Friedley                                                             

Mathematics and Statistics: Joseph  Noles

Microbiology: Umair Ahmed                                                                     

Philosophy: Nicholas  Huston

Physics: Nadiah Algahmi              

Political Science: Emma Slonina                                 

Psychology: Michelle Evans                        

Social Studies: Sanaa Ayoub

Sociology: Elizabeth Bartles

Urban and Regional Studies: Sara  Czarniecki

Women’s and Gender Studies: Rachel Krasicky

Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: Barbara Bodzin

Graduate Program in Environmental Science: Scott M. Wasielewski        

Graduate Program in Liberal Studies: Hannan Saab

Graduate Program in Psychology: Sally Jeffries

Graduate Program in Public Administration: Barbara Wells


School of Education


Bachelor of Arts in Education (Social Studies): Jessica Boroniec                  

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Science Studies): Carol Allie

Bachelor of Arts in Special Education: Jessica Richardson

Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood: Amy Szymaszek

Bachelor of General Studies: Marilyn Miller

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Mathematics Studies): Ariel Lossing

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Language Arts): Leah Walkuski

Graduate Program in Education: Rima Hassan

Graduate Program in Educational Leadership: Jeffrey Bouwman

Graduate Program in Special Education: Meredith Resnick                                           

Graduate Program in Science Education: Alexandria Oleksienko

Graduate Program in Teaching: Natalie Sikora


College of Engineering and Computer Science                  


Computer Engineering: Robert Morris

Computer and Information Science: Margaret Pearce

Electrical Engineering: Joshua Vallender               

Industrial and Systems Engineering: Jessica Studnick

Manufacturing Engineering: Nicholas Hedrick

Mechanical Engineering: Akram K. Ayyash                                                                     

Software Engineering: Michael DeMatteis

Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering: Shantanu Ranadive       

Graduate Program in Computer Engineering: Harika Chaparala

Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science: Julian Vilcu

Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering: Sohaib Ikram

Graduate Program in Engineering Management: Alia Lichtner

Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Engineering: Mohammad Poorsartep

Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology: Jason Sterioff       

Graduate Program in Manufacturing Systems Engineering: Ross Evers

Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering: David R. Kosmalski                            

Graduate Program in Software Engineering: David Terpstra


College of Business         


Controllership: Sarah Milne

Finance: Matthew Keigher

Financial Accounting and Reporting: Michael Guerreso

General Business: Murad Mohamed

Human Resource Management: Katherine Lovely

Management: Reiko Kikuchi

Information Technology Management: Bridget Huston 

Supply Chain Management: Scott Paxton

Marketing: Kristina Karaboyas                                                                                      

Graduate Program in Accounting: Jared Thornton                                                            

Graduate Program in Business Administration: Anne Przykucki

Graduate Program in Finance: Sanchari S. Senthil

Dual Degree Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Finance:
Robert K. Runkle        

Dual Degree Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Engineering-Industrial and Systems Engineering: Cory M. Celski

Dual Degree Master of Business Administration and Master of Health Services Administration: Nikita  Shah