Award Criteria

The Honor Scholar Award is presented each year to the one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by Fall term. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 7.0 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of Fall term. The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by department, school or college including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring and leadership in discipline based student organizations.

2013 Recipients

College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters


American Studies: Pamela Ammiano

Anthropology: Elizabeth Bastian

Art History: Caitlin Wunderlich

Biochemistry: Mariam Ayyash

Biological Sciences: Patrick F. Reilly

Chemistry: Wafa Algahmi

Communications: Shaheen Khan
Criminal Justice Studies: Dionis A. Mikols
Earth Science: Jennifer Dombroski

Economics: Sean Manor

English: Hajera Himayathullah

Environmental Science: Hala M. Hachem                              

Environmental Studies: Mary Fastiggi

French Studies: Claire M. Brisson                                             

General Studies: Jason Schweder

Health Policy Studies: Colleen K. Quintal

Hispanic Studies: Elizabeth Klebba

History: Mary Fastiggi

International Studies: Shane Hammond

Journalism and Screen Studies: Laura Clark
Liberal Studies: Lindsey Desmet                                                                               

Mathematics & Statistics: Amanda Ruth Garcia Bower

Microbiology: Cynthia Morris                                                                    

Philosophy: Marcus Brown

Physics: Bunheng Ty      

Political Science: Shane M. Henson                                         

Psychology: Morgan B. Showler

Social Studies: Angela Sabella

Sociology: Karl Wancha

Urban and Regional Studies: Joshua D. Gawne

Women’s and Gender Studies: Fahtme Abdallah

Graduate Program in Clinical Health Psychology: Jamie Smith

Graduate Program in Liberal Studies: Michael Chumbley

Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: Thomas William Bechanko

Graduate Program in Public Policy: Zachary Rose

Graduate Program in Public Administration: Kimberly Burton     


College of Business         


Accounting Information Systems: Christopher Collins

Digital Marketing: John Marchello

Finance: Josef Zenicki

Financial Accounting and Reporting: Bethany Naumoff

General Business: Caitlin Russell

Human Resource Management: Amanda Quartz

Information Technology Management: Miranda Janzer                                

Management: Katelyn Watts

Marketing: Jamie Mellas

Supply Chain Management: Austin Abair                          

Graduate Program in Accounting: Margo L. Souchock                                     

Graduate Program in Business Administration: John A. Savoia

Graduate Program in Finance: Suk Ching Ling

Graduate Program in Information Systems: Kevin Machuga

Dual Degree Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Finance: Todd P. Loiselle

Dual Degree Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Information Systems: Jamie M. Rademacher

Dual Degree Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Industrial & Systems Engineering: Mark T. Hebert


College of Engineering and Computer Science                  


Computer Engineering: Sarah Gebara                                    

Computer and Information Science: Molly Pohutski

Electrical Engineering: Robert Stojcevski               

Industrial and Systems Engineering: Amelia Peer

Mechanical Engineering: Anthony Lawrence DelRicci

Manufacturing Engineering: David Virga                               

Software Engineering: Michael DeMatteis

Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering: Evan Sonderman

Graduate Program in Computer Engineering: Cameron Hosner

Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science: Jonathan Pollock

Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering: Huimin Guan

Graduate Program in Engineering Management: Svetlana Petrusevski                                   

Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Engineering: Susan Goerge

Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology: Christopher Stevenson

Graduate Program in Manufacturing Systems Engineering: Matthew Eder

Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering: Danny Nakhle

Graduate Program in Program and Project Management: Jason Harris

Graduate Program in Software Engineering: Adam Bodenmiller


School of Education


Bachelor of Arts in Education (Social Studies): Maureen L. Fleming

Bachelor of Science in Education (Science Studies): Steven C. Pascoe

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Reading): Jacqueline G. Laforet

Bachelor of Arts in Special Education: Jennifer K. Urso

Bachelor in Early Childhood: Jennifer M. Rosecrans

Bachelor of General Studies: Tracy L. Winkelman

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Mathematics Studies): Maggie S. Gearns

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Language Arts): Melissa C. Gellenbeck

Master of Arts in Education: Timothy R. Marley

Master of Arts in Educational Leadership: Jeanette K. Reifenberg

Master of Arts in Educational Technology: Carissa Quinones

Master of Education in Special Education: Jonna L. Fessenden

Master of Science in Science Education: Tracy L. Rumfelt