Award Criteria

The Honor Scholar Award is presented each year to the one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by Fall term. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 7.0 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of Fall term. The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by department, school or college including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring and leadership in discipline based student organizations.

2012 Recipients

College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters


American Studies: Andrew Turner

Anthropology: Rachel Krasicky  

Art History: Anne Patrias                                             

Behavioral Sciences: Steven Morrow

Biochemistry: Ryan Stegenga

Biological Sciences: Brandon Baker

Chemistry: Amy Bondy

Communications: Troy Blevins                                                                  

Criminal Justice Studies: Karl Wancha                                                                     

Earth Science: Kyle Sayyae

Economics: Woohyun Joo

English: Megan Torti

Environmental Science: Wayne Roper

Environmental Studies: Gerard Heath                                                   

French Studies: Dayna Anderegg             

General Studies: Christine A. Sickle

Health Policy Studies: Dawn Perfect

Hispanic Studies: Matthew Kerry

History: Zane Hatahet

International Studies: Stephanie Salvadero         

Liberal Studies: Gloria No                                                                                            

Mathematics and Statistics: Amanda Raupp

Microbiology: Dylan  Frabutt                                                                      

Philosophy: Zainab Sabbagh

Physics: Michael  Obsniuk           

Political Science: Jessica Reed                                    

Psychology: Stephanie Harbin

Social Studies: Isaiah Novak

Sociology: Elena Begunova

Urban and Regional Studies: Raquel  Whitt

Women’s and Gender Studies: Emily Baumgartner

Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: Martina Schultz

Graduate Program in Environmental Science: Kristin Bossio         

Graduate Program in Liberal Studies: Donna Braden

Masters in Public Policy: Erin Jackson

Graduate Program in Psychology: Michelle Beddow

Graduate Program in Public Administration: Scott Trumbo


School of Education


Bachelor of Arts in Education (Social Studies): Jessica Boroniec

Bachelor of Science in Education (Science Studies): Blair Chamberlin

Bachelor of Arts in Special Education: Alexandria Freeman

Bachelor in Early Childhood: Jacklyn Szuba

Bachelor in General Studies: Diana Young

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Mathematics Studies): Danielle Archibald

Bachelor of Arts in Education (Language Arts): Jillian Carver

Graduate Program in Education: Batoul Baydoun

Graduate Program in Arts, Education and Leadership: Eric Pace

Graduate Program in Special Education: Pamela Schroeder         

Graduate Program in Science Education: Patricia Hemme

Graduate Program in Teaching: Anca Stefan


College of Engineering and Computer Science                  


Computer Engineering: Xianan Fan

Computer and Information Science: Christopher VanIttersum

Electrical Engineering: Bonnie Willyard

Industrial and Systems Engineering: Adam Sampson

Mechanical Engineering : Jacob Mack

Software Engineering: Jordan Lampi

Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering: Jeffrey Sterniak

Graduate Program in Computer Engineering: Jerome Brown

Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science: Alex Pritchard

Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering: Christopher Piechocki

Graduate Program in Engineering Management: Ronald Noyes

Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Engineering: Michael McDermott

Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology: Suvendu Bhutia

Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering: Hassan Kabalan

Graduate Program in Program and Project Management: Purwa Pendse

Graduate Program in Software Engineering: Zhivko Tyankov


College of Business         


Finance: Elena Begunova

Financial Accounting and Reporting: James Kaptur

General Business: Murad Mohamed

Human Resource Management: Sara Laidlaw

Management: Jesse Crawfis

Information Technology Management: Austin Abair       

Supply Chain Management: Katelyn Watts

Marketing: Kristen Hill                                                  

Graduate Program in Accounting: Layal Hammoud Moussa                                         

Graduate Program in Business Administration: Sara Eckstein Limpose

Graduate Program in Finance: Chun Sing Chung

Dual Degree Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Finance: Jeffrey Thompson