The Graduate Subcommittee shall be a standing subcommittee of the University Curriculum and Degree Committee. The Subcommittee's responsibilities include reviewing, offering suggestions for revision, and recommending action on new or modified graduate degree and certificate programs to the Provost. It also has the responsibility to review, offer suggestions for revision, and recommend action to the Provost on new or modified graduate course proposals from the academic units. In addition, the Subcommittee may address issues presented to it by the Associate Provost for Graduate Programs, Director of Graduate Studies and graduate program directors from the colleges. Finally, the Subcommittee may set policies and procedures related to campus-wide issues impacting the area of graduate education dealing with programs, admissions concerns, student retention matters and scholarships. The motion establishing the structure and membership of the Graduate Subcommittee can be found here

Graduate Subcommittee Membership Structure

Graduate Subcommittee Chair, Associate Provost of Graduate Programs

Voting Members:

The chair of each college's graduate curriculum committee (1)

One elected faculty representative from each  college (4)

One Faculty Senate representative serving a one-year term (1)

One student representative serving a one-year term (1)

Subcommittee Advisors (non-voting):

The University Registrar or designee (1)

The Library Director or designee (1)

The Director of Graduate Studies or designee (1)

The Director of Admissions & Orientation or designee (1)

Chief Assessment Officer or designee (1)

The Institutional Research Director or designee (1)

Marketing Manager or designee (1)


Graduate Subcommittee Members

Ilir Miteza, Associate Provost for Graduate, International and Online Learning (Graduate Subcommittee Chair)

Mitchel Sollenberger, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Programs and Integrative Learning (Graduate Subcommittee Vice Chair)

Laura Reynolds, Chair of CEHHS Curriculum Committee (ex-offico)

Claudia Kocher, Chair of COB Curriculum Committee (ex-offico)

Michael Lachance, Chair of CASL Curriculum Committee (ex-offico)

Yi Lu Murphey, Chair of CECS Curriculum Committee (ex-offico)


Bonnie Beyer, CEHHS Elected Faculty (Term Expires W16)
Kirk Philipich, COB Elected Faculty (Term Expires W16)
Brahim Medjahed, CECS Elected Faculty (Term Expires W15)

Jamie Wraight, CASL Elected Faculty (Term Expires W17)


Jie Shen, Faculty Senate Representative (one-year term; F15 -W16)

Katrina Palmer, Student Representative (one-year term; F15 -W16)