Tau Sigma is an academic honor society designed specifically to "recognize and promote the academic excellence and involvement of transfer students."  

The Beta Sigma Chapter at UM-Dearborn, founded in 2009, was the first chapter to be organized in the state of Michigan.


To be eligible for Tau Sigma in 2018, transfer students must have been full time (at least 12 credit hours) in Winter, Summer, or Fall 2017 semesters and have a 3.50 GPA or higher in the first semester full-time. They must also have transferred at least 24 credit hours to UM-Dearborn. Eligible students are automatically involved by the national office to join each January with the induction ceremony held each spring.

In the news...

Another year, another top scholarship for a UM-Dearborn transfer student. Salam Smidi—a transfer student from Henry Ford College—earned the top Tau Sigma National Honor Society scholarship for 2017. This marks the eighth consecutive year a UM-Dearborn student has received the honor.


Chapter President: Rana Dabaja

Office of Undergraduate Admissions

39% of our student body transferred to UM-Dearborn.

Back to top of page