Information on proposing, modifying, deleting, and reviewing courses and programs; links to the CASL Curriculum Committee web site and to enrollment and grading systems.

CASL Curriculum Committee

Meetings are Mondays, 3:00-5:00 p.m.

Fall 2021 meeting dates are:  9/13/21, 9/27/21, 10/11/21, 10/25/21, 11/8/21, and 12/6/21.

Winter 2022 meeting dates: 1/10/22, 1/24/22, 2/7/22, 2/21/22, 3/7/22, 3/21/22, 4/4/22, and 4/18/22.

Course/program proposals or changes: Must be submitted through CIM by the end of the business day on the prior Wednesday.

Last day to submit course changes:
  • Winter '22: September 27
  • Summer '22: December 6
Last day to submit course and program modifications/changes:
  • Fall '22: February 7

This site is intended to provide CASL faculty and staff with information and assistance about new curriculum development, current curriculum revision as well as navigating the review and approval process within the College. Guidelines, resources and forms related to curriculum development/revision are listed under "Forms and Resources" on this site.

Committee History and Charge

The CASL Curriculum Committee was established by the CASL Executive Committee on 31 January 1984 to oversee the curriculum of the College on behalf of the Executive Committee.  The charges to the Curriculum Committee, approved by the CASL Executive Committee on January 23, 2013, reads as follows:

"The CASL Curriculum Committee shall be responsible for (1) carrying out the policies for curriculum matters as established by the CASL Executive Committee, (2) reviewing and approving new course proposals, course modifications, and course deletions at both undergraduate and graduate levels, (3) initiating curriculum reviews with the advice and consent of the CASL Executive Committee , and (4) evaluating and recommending to the CASL Executive Committee for approval, any curriculum reforms, such as new degree programs and degree program revisions at both undergraduate and graduate levels, areas of focus, interdisciplinary studies, minors, etc."

The original composition of the Curriculum Committee consisted of one faculty member of Senate rank representing each of the five departments. The voting membership was expanded in 2006 to include explicit representation for the College-wide programs. In 2008, the voting membership was expanded again to reflect CASL's reorganization into six departments.

Committee Membership

Chair: Associate Dean

Department Representatives:

  • Behavioral Sciences: Kevin Early (2021-2024)
  • College-Wide Programs: Nehal Patel (2021-2022)
  • Language, Culture and Communication: Jennifer Proctor (2020-2023)
  • Literature, Philosophy and Arts: Nadja Rottner (2021-2024)
  • Mathematics & Statistics: Jennifer Zhao (2020-2023)
  • Natural Sciences: Jin Wang (2018-2021)
  • Social Sciences: Pam Pennock (2020-2023)

Degree Audit & Curriculum: Giannina Wilson

CASL Administration

Back to top of page