Congratulations to the CASL 2020 Honor Scholars

March 5, 2020

University of Michigan-Dearborn recognized 34 CASL students as 2020 Honor Scholars

The Honor Scholar Award is presented to one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by Fall 2019. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 3.7 cumulative GPA and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of Fall 2019.  The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by the department, school, or college, including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring, and leadership in discipline-based student organizations. 

2020 College of Arts, Sciences, & Letters Honor Scholars

  • Anthropology: Fatima M. Al-Rasool
  • Applied Statistics: Brenden Hoy
  • Art History:Brandon Klein
  • Behavioral and Biological Sciences: Brandon Klein
  • Behavioral Sciences: Colleen F. Fitzgerald
  • Biochemistry: Selena Nehmeh
  • Biological Sciences: Ashley Pall
  • Chemistry: Veronica Gerios
  • Communication: Mohamad Jaafar
  • Criminology and Criminal Justice: Madou Bazzi
  • Economics: Brenden Hoy
  • English: Jason Kendrick
  • Environmental Science: Kaitlyn Tatro
  • Environmental Studies: Dale Browne
  • French Studies: Carla Yanez
  • Geological Sciences: Michael Solomon
  • Hispanic Studies: Nicole Kilikevicius
  • History: Marlaine Magewick
  • International Studies: Nadia Jaffal
  • Journalism and Screen Studies: Heather Thibault
  • Mathematics: Owen Ekblad
  • Microbiology: Katherine Coffey
  • Philosophy: Dominion Burch
  • Physics: David Choy
  • Political Science: Molly DeWyse         
  • Psychology: Sarah Bondy
  • Sociology: Leah Oldham
  • Urban and Regional Studies: Liz Raupp
  • Women’s and Gender Studies: Very Raft


  • Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: Nicole Hayes
  • Graduate Program in Criminology and Criminal Justice: Audrea Dakho
  • Graduate Program in Environmental Science: Nagham Mehdi
  • Graduate Program in Psychology: Angela Tiemeyer
  • Graduate Program in Public Administration and Policy: Caitlin Nagler



Back to top of page