Kudos: Fowler, Hoffman, Beyer, Hudson, Janosky, Jawad, Muller, Sheldon

September 26, 2016

Interested in sharing your news with the campus community? Submit your news online.

Two UM-Dearborn community members are recipients of this year’s Shining Light Awards, presented annually by the Detroit Free Press and the Metropolitan Affairs Coalition to recognize individuals who positively impact the lives of metro Detroiters:

  • Faith Fowler (’02 MPA), adjunct professor, was recognized for her efforts to help disadvantaged Detroit residents. Fowler is executive director of Cass Community Social Services and pastor of Cass Community United Methodist Church.
  • Fred Hoffman (’73 B.A.), director of strategic university relationships, was awarded for his work to bring—and keep—automotive jobs to Michigan. Hoffman is a former Chrysler executive and Dearborn city official.

Both Fowler and Hoffman received the Eleanor Josaitis Unsung Hero Award.

Several College of Education, Health, and Human Services members participated in the National Council of Professors of Educational Administration’s Annual Summer Conference:

  • Bonnie Beyer, professor of educational administration, was a member of the conference planning committee and presented on the topic “Every Student Succeeds Act: Implications for Urban Education.”
  • Truman Hudson Jr. (’13 Ed.D.), LEO lecturer, participated as a panelist in the plenary session “Challenges and Opportunities in Urban Education” with Ricardo Martin (’09 MAEL), Durfee Elementary School principal.
  • CEHHS Dean Janine Janosky presented the 2016 Walter Cocking Lecture, “Convergence of Education and Health for Urban Education.”
  • Lina Jawad, LEO lecturer, presented her paper, “Examining Early College Programs Through the Lens of College Readiness.”

Anna Muller’s article, "Walls that Unite: Unlikely Friendships in Mokotów Prison, 1949-1956,” was selected for publication in Anthropological Yearly. Muller is assistant professor of social sciences.

Jane P. Sheldon, professor of psychology, has been awarded "Best Humorous Brain Illustration" in the 2016 Brain Art Competition sponsored by the Neuro Bureau. Her winning artwork is titled "Glial Cell Yarn Bombing." The Neuro Bureau is an international organization of scientists, researchers, and artists whose aim is to promote the open sharing of resources and ideas pertaining to neuroscience.

Back to top of page