News from Research and Sponsored Programs: Campus Grant recipients


Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP)

Campus Grant Recipients Announced
At their November 19 meeting, the Research Support Committee reviewed Campus Grant applications and awarded more than $77,000 to University of Michigan Dearborn faculty and students in the following categories:

CASL Senior Faculty Grants to Encourage and Reward Scholarship – Provide one course release or stipend to CASL senior faculty who commit to submitting a major external grant proposal, to completing a manuscript to be submitted or resubmitted to a peer-reviewed journal, or to making substantial progress on a book manuscript under contract.

Pamela Aronson (CASL) $3,500
Jacqueline Vansant (CASL) $3,500

EIC Environmental-Sustainability Research Grants – Provide funding for projects related to sustainability, conservation and/or environmental education and research that will result in tangible products (papers, presentations) and proposals for external funding.

Francine Dolins (CASL) $12,000

Faculty Research Initiation and Seed Grants – Provide funding for research projects that are designed to lead to proposals for external funding.

Joshua Akers (CASL) $6,000
John Chenoweth (CASL) $6,000
Bochen Jia (CECS) $4,200
Patrick Lynch (CECS) $4,200
Wencong Su (CECS) $6,000

Faculty Research Support and Maintenance Grants – Provide funding for research projects in disciplines where there is little chance for external funding.

Rayne Allinson (CASL) $6,000
David James (CASL) $5,700
Juliette Roddy (CASL) $6,000

Graduate Student Research Grants – Provide funds for UM-Dearborn graduate students to conduct independent research projects supervised by a faculty member and completed as part of a degree requirement.

Olivia Duval (Faculty adviser: Elizabeth Rohan, CASL) $2,500
Rongheng Li (Faculty adviser: Ben Li, CECS) $2,500
Mian Wang (Faculty adviser: Nilay Chakraborty, CECS) $2,500
Zhengtuo Zhao (Faculty adviser: Joe Lo, CECS) $2,500

Small Grants for Faculty Research – Provide modest funds to full-time faculty for research and other scholarly activities.

Will Clarkson (CASL) $800
Marouane Kessentini (CECS) $800

Undergraduate Research Fellowships – Provide stipends to UM-Dearborn undergraduate students whose academic record demonstrates preparedness and commitment to excellence. Students are invited by a faculty adviser to conduct independent research under their direction.

Quinn Osgood (Faculty adviser: Nilay Chakraborty, CECS) $2,500

In addition to the Campus Grants announced, the following Professional Development Grants were awarded to provide funds to enhance and strengthen the academic programs of UM-Dearborn by supporting the professional and personal growth of our faculty and lecturers.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty Professional Development Grant Recipients
Joshua Akers (CASL) $900
Hani Bawardi (CASL) $900
Scott DeGregorio (CASL) $900
Paul Draus (CASL) $900
Jun He (COB) $900
Georgina Hickey (CASL) $900
Junghyun Lee (COB) $900
Emily Luxon (CASL) $900
Francia Martinez (CASL) $900
Jacob Napieralski (CASL) $900
Nehal Patel (CASL) $900
Margaret Rathouz (CASL) $900
Juliette Roddy (CASL) $900
Taehyun Shim (CECS) $900
Vivek Singh (COB) $900
Qin Wang (COB) $900
Matthew Wimble (COB) $900

Lecturer Professional Development Grant Recipients
Tim Hartge (COB) $678
Liana McMillan (CASL) $900
Joseph Musial (CASL) $900
Philip Potvin (CASL) $900
Richard Robinson (CASL) $802

Guidelines for all Campus Grant programs can be found on the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs website at: The proposal submission deadline for the next Campus Grant funding cycle is February 17, 2014.

Back to top of page