Faculty and Student Fellows

Faculty Fellow Development Program

Since the Fall of 2006, the Civic Engagement Project has sponsored an Academic Service Learning Faculty Fellows Development Program. During the Fellows Program, faculty members engage in readings and discussion on methods to implement ASL in their courses. Faculty members meet once a month during the academic year. Faculty Fellows will then each teach a course with a significant ASL component the following academic year.

Faculty members are given a $1,000 stipend for participating in the program. The Civic Engagement Project provides assistance and additional resources that the Fellows might need both throughout the development program as well as during the teaching of the respective courses regarding course design, community partnering, reflection exercises and project evaluation.

Apply here to be a Faculty Fellow, 2019-2020.   Deadline is September 27, 2019.

Student Fellows program

The Student Fellows program (SF) will pair a student with a faculty member teaching an Academic Service Learning (ASL) course at the UM–Dearborn. Students involved in this program will work closely with the faculty member, students in the ASL course and community organizations to facilitate nearly every aspect of ASL at UM-D. The SF will receive training in ASL concepts, peer-to-peer reflection, site leadership and more. This program promises to offer students a new level of ownership in their education and collaboration with community agencies. The Civic Engagement Project will work closely with the SF members to oversee this program and provide all necessary training. In exchange for their participation in the program, SFs will receive a $500 stipend.

What past and current Student Fellows have said:

"I find that being a Student Fellow is very rewarding. I really enjoy working closely with professors because we exchange ideas and their feedback allows me to take a different approach to my research."-Javon Hindo, SF Fall 08, LIBS 122

"I was greatly surprised at the learning experience. Through helping the students in class, I am getting a hands-on experience."-Shavon Holcomb, SF Winter 08, SOC 435

"The students in Professor DeGenaro's class have learned so much from their experience and St. Peter's has gained from it as well. It has been a wonderful service learning experience."-Kathleen Grandy, SF Fall 07, COMP 364

"I find that helping students in creating their project, executing their projects, and helping out along the way is very rewarding. I am able to not only help these students do well, I am able to help a community nonprofit partner and relieve some of the workload on the professor."-Benjamin Pohl, SF Fall 08, OB 354

"Being an SF was rewarding. I enjoyed watching the groups come together, find an organization to work with, and really make a difference. A lot of the students had trouble with reflection. I facilitated a few reflection exercises so that the students had a better understanding of the importance of reflection in service-learning. One exercise included a key-phrase journal and I received several great journals that really showed me that not only are the organizations benefiting, but the students are also."-Chelsey Porter, SF Winter 09, ITM 381

Faculty Fellows

  • 2018 - 2019

    Aaron Kinzel, Criminal Justice Studies

    Marcus Harris, Strategy and Entrepreneurship

    Jung Hyun Lee, Organizational Behavior

  • 2017 - 2018

    Francine Banner, Sociology

    Maya Barak, Criminal Justice Studies

    Jessica Camp, Social Work

    Yi-Su Chen, Operations Management

    Patrick Keyes, Business Administration

    Harmony Reppond, Psychology

  • 2016 - 2017

    Bethany Hedden, Health and Human Services

    Kent Murray, Physical Sciences

    Carrie Swift, Physical Sciences

    Sharon Werner, Education

    Brenda Whitehead, Psychology


  • 2015 - 2016

    Natalie Sampson, Public Health
    Kalyan Kondapalli, Biology
    Katherine LaCommare, Biology 
    Carmel Price, Sociology 
    David Hill, Special Education 
    Kim Killu, Special Education
    Patrick Beauchesne, Anthropology 

  • 2014 - 2015

    Anna Muller, History
    Sheryl Edwards, Political Science
    Rick Robinson, Anthropology
    Jill Darling, Writing Program
    Michael MacDonald, Composition and Rhetoric
    LaShorage Shaffer, Early Childhood Education
    Caitlin Finlayson, English

  • 2013 - 2014

    Emily Matthews Luxon, Political Science
    Emily Saarinen, Biology
    Jamie Wraight, History
    Julia Daniel Walkuski, Head Systems Librarian
    Kevin Kobesky, Accounting
    Kirsten Dara Hill, Reading and Language Arts
    Sally Howell, History
    Tim Davis, Director of iLabs 

  • 2012 - 2013

    Danielle DeFauw, Reading and Language Arts
    Francine Dolins, Psychology
    Hafiz Malik, Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Marilee Benore, Biochemistry and Biology
    Marshall Hunt, Accounting
    Nitya Sethuraman, Psychology
    Patricia Hartshorn, Biology
    Stephen A. Weatherholt, Special Education 

  • 2011 - 2012

    Cathy Miller, Writing Program
    David Susko, Biology
    Hani Bawardi, History
    Jamie Ward, Communication
    Jennifer Proctor, Communication
    Jennifer Siegel, Dept. of Literature, Philosophy, and the Arts
    John Cristiano, College of Engineering and Computer Science
    Philip Potvin, Composition and Rhetoric
    Stein Brunvand, Educational Technology 

  • 2010 - 2011

    Carolyn Kraus, Humanities/ Journalism and Screen Studies
    Gail Luera, Science Education
    James Gilmore, Journalism and Screen Studies
    Joann Riley, Writing Program
    Kristi Stewart, Writing Program
    Maureen Linker, Philosophy
    Nehal Patel, Criminal Justice
    Richard Rischar, Multimedia and Music 

  • 2009 - 2010

    Bonnie Halloran, Anthropology
    Bruce Maxim, Computer and Information Science
    Chris Burke, Education
    Crystal Scott, Marketing
    Jorge Gonzalez del Pozo, Spanish
    Lara Rusch, Political Science
    Nancy Kursman, Political Science 

  • 2008 - 2009

    James Gruber, Sociology
    Laura Woodruff, Education
    Pam Aronson, Sociology
    Susan Sheth, Communications
    Tija Spitsberg, Composition and Rhetoric

  • 2007 - 2008

    Bruce Pietrykowski, Economics
    Karen Thomas-Brown, Social Studies
    Liz Rohan, Composition
    Mike Callahan, College of Business

  • 2006 - 2007

    Bill DeGenaro, Composition and Rhetoric
    Brian McKenna, Anthropology
    Joy Beatty, Organizational Behavior
    Katie Silverman, Education
    Paul Draus, Sociology
    Troy Murphy, Communication 

Hub for Teaching & Learning Resources

1190 -
Social Sciences Building (SSB)
Back to top of page