Jaerock Kwon, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Jaerock Kwon
College of Engineering and Computer Science
Electrical and Computer Engineering
2069 Engineering Lab Building | 4901 Evergreen Road | Dearborn, MI 48128

Teaching Areas:

Computer Engineering, Robotics Engineering

Research Areas:

Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Optimization, and Intelligent Systems, Neuroscience, Robotics

Biography and Education


Ph.D. in Computer Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA 

M.Sc. in Electronic Communication Engineering, Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea 

B.Sc. in Electronic Communication Engineering, Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea

Teaching and Research


Computer Engineering, Robotics Engineering

Selected Publications

Awards and Recognition

  • Faculty Research Fellowship, Development of Experimental Setup for Evaluating Vehicular Communication System (V2X), Kettering University, 2018.
  • Provost’s Research Matching Fund, Development of Low-Cost Autonomous Vehicle Experimental Platform, Kettering University, 2017
  • Outstanding Researcher Award, Kettering University, 2016 in recognition of significant contributions in the areas of Computational Neuroscience and Neurobotics.
  • Faculty Research Fellowship, A Touch-Enabled Virtual Room for Scientific Data Exploration, Kettering University, 2015.
  • Development of High-Throughput and High-Resolution Three-Dimensional Tissue Scanner with Internet-Connected 3D Virtual Microscope for Large-Scale Automated Histology (NSF Award No. ECCS-1337983, PI: Kwon) 2013 - 2017.
  • Kettering University Innovation Fellow, 2013
  • Oswald International Faculty Fellowships, Kettering University, 2010 - 2011.
  • Travel Grant for IEEE International Joint Conference on Neural Networks, 2007.
  • SK Employee Award, MPR/S division, An Excellent Employee, SK Teletech, 2001.
  • Graduate fellowship from LG Electronics Co., Ltd. (Two-year full-tuition), 1992 - 1993.
  • Undergraduate fellowship from LG Electronics Co., Ltd. (Two-year full-tuition), 1990 - 1991
  • Academic Merit Scholarship, 1988