2011 Alumni Difference Makers named

October 10, 2011


For more than 30 years, UM-Dearborn has honored outstanding alumni for their contributions to the University and community. These men and women are “difference makers” who have continued the University’s legacy of leadership in their lives and careers. A selection committee of alumni, faculty, staff and students went through a rigorous process to review all the outstanding nominations and select the award recipients.

The 2011 Alumni Difference Makers are:

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year – Jim Brailean (’85 CECS)

Jeanette Schumacher Alumni Service Award – Tina Russette (’93 CASL)

Young Alumnus of the Year – Tom Wille (’10 CASL) and Matt Zelman (’01 COB)

College of Arts, Science and Letters Alumnus of the Year – James Miller (’78 CASL)

College of Business Alumnus of the Year – Alan Schultz (’81 COB)

College of Engineering and Computer Science Alumnus of the Year – Nancy Gioia (’82 CECS)

School of Education Alumnus of the Year – Tracy Blakely-Thompson (’92 SOE)

Join the UM-Dearborn community in honoring the Alumni Difference Makers, Friday, Oct. 28 at 5 p.m. in the Institute for Advanced Vehicle Systems (IAVS) Building. To register to attend visit http://www.umd.umich.edu/alumni_2011_reception000/.

For more information contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 313-593-5131 or umdalumni@umd.umich.edu.

Back to top of page