Student awards recognize passion for leadership and academics

April 19, 2013

What does it look like to pursue a passion? For Jamilah Alhashidi, it’s a transformational experience.

“If a student becomes involved in something they love, they’ll radiate. You can see their passion,” she said.

That’s how she felt when she became involved with student organizations that work with the underserved. Alhashidi can’t help but smile when she talks about the growing membership of the Alliance for Disability Awareness and hosting events like the Veterans' Benefit Dinner.

And ask her about her involvement with Autism Speaks U? Her eyes light up and her speech quickens as she talks about a two-year pen pal friendship with a student at Burger School for Students with Autism.

On Wednesday, April 10, Alhashidi was recognized for her passion during University of Michigan-Dearborn’s Student Leadership Awards. She was one of six students honored as a Distinguished Student Leader.

For fellow honoree Shane Henson, passion is about delving into the law and politics.

As speaker of the Senate, he helped shift the culture from a top-down hierarchy to one in which senators felt greater autonomy to accomplish goals. And as president of the Michigan Federation of College Democrats, he oversaw a grant program that helped local chapters support state House candidates.

“The question becomes, ‘What can we do together?’” Henson said. “When you love what you’re doing, you want to work to achieve something.”

The annual Student Leadership Awards recognize both students and student organizations for the contributions to campus. Also recognized as Distinguished Student Leaders were Amal Algahmi, Chandar Balakumar, Zidong Li and Dennis Lienhardt. J. Caitlin Finlayson was named Outstanding Organization Adviser.

Political Science Association and Pre-Professional Health Society earned Outstanding Student Organization awards, while Student Government was named Outstanding University Organization. GLOBE was recognized for its commitment to inclusion.

As the end of the semester approaches, students also were recognized for their academic work. More than 80 students were named Honor Scholars during the 31st Annual Honor Scholars and Faculty Awards Ceremony, held March 26.

College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters:
Fahtme Abdallah
(Women’s and Gender Studies), Wafa Algahmi (Chemistry), Pamela Ammiano (American Studies), Mariam Ayyash (Biochemistry), Elizabeth Bastian (Anthropology), Thomas William Bechanko (Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics), Claire M. Brisson (French Studies), Marcus Brown (Philosophy), Kimberly Burton (Graduate Program in Public Administration), Michael Chumbley (Graduate Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics), Laura Clark (Journalism and Screen Studies), Lindsey Desmet (Liberal Studies), Jennifer Dombroski (Earth Science), Mary Fastiggi (Environmental Studies and History), Amanda Ruth Garcia Bower (Mathematics & Statistics), Joshua D. Gawne (Urban and Regional Studies), Hala M. Hachem (Environmental Science), Shane Hammond (International Studies), Shane M. Henson (Political Science), Hajera Himayathullah (English), Shaheen Khan (Communications), Elizabeth Klebba (Hispanic Studies), Sean Manor (Economics), Dionis A. Mikols (Criminal Justice Studies), Cynthia Morris (Microbiology), Colleen K. Quintal (Health Policy Studies), Patrick F. Reilly (Biological Sciences), Zachary Rose (Graduate Program in Public Policy), Angela Sabella (Social Studies), Jason Schweder (General Studies), Morgan B. Showler (Psychology), Jamie Smith (Graduate Program in Clinical Health Psychology), Bunheng Ty (Physics), Karl Wancha (Sociology), Caitlin Wunderlich (Art History)

College of Business:
Austin Abair
(Supply Chain Management), Christopher Collins (Accounting Information Systems), Mark T. Hebert (Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering), Miranda Janzer (Information Technology Management), Suk Ching Ling (Graduate Program in Finance), Todd P. Loiselle (Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Finance), Kevin Machuga (Graduate Program in Information Systems), John Marchello (Digital Marketing), Jamie Mellas (Marketing), Bethany Naumoff (Financial Accounting and Reporting), Amanda Quartz (Human Resource Management), Jamie M. Rademacher (Graduate Program in Business Administration and Master of Science in Information Systems), Caitlin Russell (General Business), John A. Savoia (Graduate Program in Business Administration), Margo L. Souchock (Graduate Program in Accounting), Katelyn Watts (Management), Josef Zenicki (Finance)

College of Engineering and Computer Science:
Adam Bodenmiller
(Graduate Program in Software Engineering), Michael DeMatteis (Software Engineering), Anthony Lawrence DelRicci (Mechanical Engineering), Matthew Eder (Graduate Program in Manufacturing Systems Engineering), Sarah Gebara (Computer Engineering), Susan Goerge (Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Management), Huimin Guan (Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering), Jason Harris (Graduate Program in Program and Project Management), Cameron Hosner (Graduate Program in Computer Engineering), Danny Nakhle (Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering), Amelia Peer (Industrial and Systems Engineering), Svetlana Petrusevski (Graduate Program in Engineering Management), Molly Pohutski (Computer and Information Science), Jonathan Pollock (Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science), Evan Sonderman (Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering), Christopher Stevenson (Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology), Robert Stojcevski (Electrical Engineering), David Virgga (Manufacturing Engineering)

School of Education:
Maureen L. Fleming
(Bachelor of Arts in Education-Social Studies), Maggie S. Gearns (Bachelor of Arts in Education-Mathematics Education), Melissa C. Gellenbeck (Bachelor of Arts in Education-Language Arts), Hannah R. Greaves (Master of Arts in Teaching), Jacqueline G. Laforet (Bachelor of Arts in Education-Reading), Timothy R. Marley (Master of Arts in Education), Steven C. Pascoe (Bachelor of Science in Education-Science Studies), Carissa Quinones (Master of Arts in Educational Technology), Jeanette K. Reifenberg (Master of Arts in Educational Leadership), Jennifer M. Rosecrans (Bachelor in Early Childhood), Tracy L. Rumfelt (Master of Science Education), Jennifer K. Urso (Bachelor of Arts in Special Education), Tracy L. Winkelman (Bachelor of General Studies)

Back to top of page