

2016-2017 Susan B. Anthony Campus Award

## **Call for Nominations**

On the 38th anniversary of this important University of Michigan-Dearborn honor, the Commission for Women invites members of the campus community to nominate candidates for the Susan B. Anthony Campus Award. Nominees should be individuals (male or female) who meet the criteria outlined below. This award will be presented at the Susan B. Anthony Awards Dinner on **Tuesday, April 4, 2017**.

A nomination form is attached which details the supporting documentation required. The Committee welcomes nominations of prior candidates with a current nomination form and letter of support. **Please note**: Susan B. Anthony award past recipients are eligible for re-nomination after ten years of receiving the award.

## Susan B. Anthony Campus Award Criteria

The award will be presented to an individual whose life and deeds exemplify the dedicated efforts, fortitude, forcefulness and involvement of Susan B. Anthony, who challenged inequities suffered by women in society and who led the nation to recognize human rights. The recipient must exemplify Susan B. Anthony's persistence and determination and share her basic philosophy that *Failure is Impossible*.

The candidate for this award should be a member of the extended UM-D campus community (current faculty, staff, student, graduate, or supporter of the UM-D campus community) who:

- Serves as a role model for women or girls, based on professional accomplishments and/or contributions on behalf of women on the Dearborn campus,
- Is directly involved in enhancing the status or well-being of women or girls,
- Is actively involved in the promotion of equal rights for women.

## Nominations must be submitted no later than Friday, February 24, 2017 to: Bonnie Beyer, beyer@umd.umich.edu, C23 FCS

## For more information, contact Barbara Bolek at bbolek@umich.edu, 313-593-5401

Susan B. Anthony Campus Award Past Recipients			
2015-2016	Lisa Martin	1996-1997 Mary Tobin	
2014-2015	Karen Holland	1995-1996 Sheryl Pearson	
2013-2014	Gloria House & Ghassan Kridli	1994-1995 Britta Roan	
2012-2013	Janice Lewis Boyd	1993-1994 Marilee Benore Parsons	
2011-2012	Georgina Hickey	1992-1993 James Gruber	
2010-2011	Cecile Aitchison	1991-1992 Jane Romatowski	
2009-2010	Deborah Smith-Pollard	1990-1991 Kim Gasaway Ross	
2008-2009	Bonnie Beyer & Trisha Schlaff	1989-1990 Melita Schaum	
2007-2008	Pam McAuslan	1988-1989 Nancy Swanborg	
2006-2007	Roma Heaney	1987-1988 Linda Fisher	
2005-2006	Maureen Linker	1986-1987 Virginia Nordby	
2004-2005	Katie Anderson-Levitt	1985-1986 Carol Quandt	
2003-2004	Vera Mical	1984-1985 Dorothy Lee	
2002-2003	Lora Bex Lempert	1983-1984 Judith Heady	
2001-2002	Suzanne Bergeron	1982-1983 Grace Kachaturoff	
2000-2001	Mary Trepanier-Street	1981-1982 Mimi Singer	
1999-2000	Sandra Wray-McAfee	1980-1981 Linda Ellis Brown & Barbara Forisha Kov	
1998-1999	Annette Lozon	1979-1980 Helen Graves	
1997-1998	Patricia Smith	1978-1979 Betty Kaufman	

Susan B. Anthony award past recipients are eligible for re-nomination after 10 years of receiving the award. 2016-2017 Susan B. Anthony Awards Selection Committee

> Bonnie Beyer, Co-Chair • Barbara Bolek, Co-Chair • Susan Cushnier • Di Ma • Simona Marincean • Judy Nesmith



2016-2017 Susan B. Anthony Campus Award

Candidate:	
Name:	
Home Address:	
Campus Address:	
Daytime Phone:	Evening Phone:
Nominated by:	
Name:	
Home Address:	
Campus Address:	
Daytime Phone:	Evening Phone:
Email Address:	

Your nomination package should include:

- 1. One nomination form
- 2. A separate letter of nomination specifically describing those activities which illustrate how the candidate meets the award criteria described in the Call for Nomination Form. These activities may include:
  - Participation in organizations whose purpose is to further the advancement or image of women.
  - Service on behalf of women on the UM-D campus.
  - Service on behalf of women in the external community.

• Professional accomplishments that relate to women's issues (including such things as research related to gender issues, and awards and honors from women's groups or in recognition of work on behalf of women).

3. <u>At least three letters of support</u> from individuals familiar with the nominee's accomplishments on behalf of women.

Deadline: Friday, February 24, 2017

Please return to: Bonnie Beyer, C23 FCS

For more information, contact Barbara Bolek at bbolek@umich.edu, 313-593-5401.