Process and Reports




  • Campus town halls discussed and selected top working group ideas  
  • COVID-19 disruption and pause 
  • President Schlissel invested in strategic student success initiatives
  • Request for Big Ideas issued (faculty, staff and students) 
  • DEI initiative launched  
  • Chancellor & Provost campus listening sessions held 
  • Leadership retreat 
  • Campus ideas selected and refined  
  • Implementation teams identified and launched


  • Five work groups assembled (faculty, staff and students)
  • Visiting thought leader sessions held (faculty, staff and students)
  • Working group reports developed  


  • Chancellor’s Inauguration set objectives 
  • Strategic planning kickoff 
  • Data-driven situational analysis developed

Situational Analysis & Strategic Priorities Working Group Reports

Resulting from and guided by the situational analysis, the five areas required our attention over the duration of the strategic plan development and were the basis for five  working groups.

Below are each working group's membership and final reports, submitted in December 2019, along with summaries. February 2020 Town Hall suggestions are also available for review.

Note: you will need to use U-M Weblogin to access the reports. Enter your @umich email address at the login prompt.