Individuals, organizations honored for commitment to student engagement

April 25, 2011

UM-Dearborn's 2011 Difference Makers (pictured above) were among the individuals and organizations honored before a standing-room-only crowd of more than 300 people at the Student Activities Office's 31st Annual Student Leadership Awards in Kochoff Hall on April 13.

The awards ceremony recognizes exceptional achievements by members of the UM-Dearborn community who demonstrate a commitment to student engagement through various forms.

Congratulations to the 2011 Student Leadership Award winners, who are listed below:

Civic Engagement/Volunteer Service
Sarah Bazzetta (individual)
Tau Sigma (student organization)

Outstanding Advisor
Farhan Latif, Muslim Students Association
Lise Urbaczewski, ITM Club

Outstanding Recognized Student Organization
Muslim Students Association
Students in Free Enterprise
Women in Learning and Leadership

Outstanding Student Organization Program
Children's Rights Exhibit, Amnesty International
Reimagining Detroit, ITM Club

Distinguished Student Leader
Rami Al-Aref
Travis Greer
Charles Pelham-Ashley


Photo by Theresa Cordon