Regents roundup for June 2021

June 21, 2021

Last week's Board of Regents meeting featured lots of agenda items relating to UM-Dearborn, including approval of the new budget, Dean Ann Lampkin-Williams' reappointment as CEHHS dean, and a new legal support service for students.

A photo of the spring commencement stage, May 2021.

At the June Board of Regents meeting, Chancellor Domenico Grasso presented the fiscal year 2022 campus budget, provided an overview of incoming interim provost Scarlatta’s background, announced new student legal services and shared news of two faculty recognitions.

These UM-Dearborn items were covered at the June 17 U-M Board of Regents meeting.

Chancellor Grasso provided the following campus updates. 

  • The campus’s $155-million operating budget and the extension of the Go Blue Guarantee were approved.
  • The Regents approved the appointment of interim provost Gabriella Scarlatta.
  • U-M Ann Arbor Student Affairs and UM-Dearborn Student Government are piloting a partnership with Student Legal Services (SLS) starting September 1, 2021. UM-Dearborn students will be able to seek legal support regarding issues, including housing, family services (such as a name change), consumer issues, traffic issues, basic estate planning and immigration issues via phone or teleconference.
  • Faculty recognition: Associate Professor of Mathematics Yunus Zeytuncu was named a Michigan Association of State Universities Professor of the Year, and Professor of English Literature and Humanities Deborah Smith Pollard received the Michigan Heritage Award. The latter is the state’s highest distinction to honor individuals who continue their family, community or cultural traditions with excellence and devotion. Pollard received the award for her community leadership in African American gospel music radio, concert promotion and education.

The following personnel actions were approved. 

Reappointments of regular instructional staff and select academic and administrative staff:

Stein Brunvand, associate dean, CEHHS, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022 (also professor of education, with tenure). 

Ann Yolanda Lampkin-Williams, dean, CEHHS, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2026. 

Lisa A. Martin, interim chair, Department of Health and Human Services, CEHHS, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022 (also associate professor of health and human services, with tenure, CEHHS, and associate professor of college-wide programs, with tenure, CASL). 

Lee S. Redding, chair, Department of Accounting and Finance, COB, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2024 (also associate professor of business economics, with tenure).

Joint or additional appointments or transfers of regular associate or full professors and select academic and administrative staff:

Christopher J. F. Burke, interim chair, Department of Education, CEHHS, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022 (also associate professor of education, with tenure). 

Maria Gabriella Scarlatta, interim provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022 (Professor of French, with tenure, Department of Language, Culture and Communications, CASL). 

Marie P. Waung, associate dean, CASL, effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2024 (also professor of psychology, with tenure).

New appointments of instructional staff represented by the Lecturers’ Employee Organization:

Xi Chen, Ph.D., lecturer III, Industrial and Systems Engineering, CECS, September 1, 2021 through April 30, 2022.

Correction to approved Regents’ communication: Jorge Gonzalez del Pozo, academic administrative appointment for a faculty member, additional title: Chair, Department of Literature, Philosophy and the Arts, CASL, effective dates: July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2023. This action was canceled after approved in the May 2020 meeting; the cancellation has been reversed.

The Regents also approved the winter semester degree lists. 

Gifts of $10,000 or more

Chancellor Domenico Grasso and Susan Hull Grasso
$20,177 in support of the BJEC Pay it Forward Endowed Scholarship and the Engineering Lab Building Renovation Fund

Alice Jenkins Estate
$123,998 in support of the William A. and Alice Jenkins Scholarship Fund

OMRON Foundation, Inc.
$100,000 in support of the Engineering Lab Building Renovation Fund

Drs. Bruce and Carol Whitaker
$12,500 in support of the First-Generation Endowed Scholarship


A complete overview of the Regents’ meeting can be found here