William E. Stirton Professorship

William E. Stirton Professorship Overview & Past Recipients

The William E. Stirton Professorship is awarded for a five-year term to an active tenured faculty member at the rank of professor. The recipient of this award is evaluated by faculty peers and must be extraordinarily distinguished in scholarly activity, teaching and professional service. The Professorship was established in 1979 and is named for University of Michigan Vice President who became the first director of the Dearborn campus, serving from 1959-68.


  • Charu Chandra, Operations Management, 2023-2028 (Pending Regental Approval)
  • Qiang Zhu, Computer and Information Science, 2017-2022
  • Jonathan Smith, Literature, Philosophy and the Arts, 2012-2017
  • P.K. Mallick, Mechanical Engineering, 2007-2012
  • Barry Bogin, Anthropology, 2004-09
  • Sidney Bolkosky, History, 1999-04
  • Daniel Moerman, Anthropology, 1994-99
  • Claude Summers, English Literature, 1989-94
  • Ted-Larry Pebworth, English Literature, 1989-94
  • Tsing Yen Na, Mechanical Engineering, 1984-89
  • Peter Amann, History, 1979-84

Office of the Provost

1080 - Administration Building
4901 Evergreen Road
Dearborn, MI 48128
View on Map
Phone: 313-593-5030