Susan B. Anthony Awards

The Commission for Women (CFW) present Susan B. Anthony Campus and Community Awards annually to recognize a member of our campus family and a member of the local community, whose lives and deeds exemplify the dedication, fortitude, political agitation and involvement of Susan B. Anthony on behalf of women. Anthony forced a nation to recognize human rights, challenged gross inequities endured by women in our society, and taught us that failure is impossible!

2020 Susan B. Anthony Awards is CANCELLED

We must regretfully CANCEL the 2020 Susan B. Anthony Awards due to University of Michigan-Dearborn policies around campus gatherings as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak.

We look forward to the 2021 awards and hope that you will attend next spring. 

2019 Susan B. Anthony Award winners, Shareia Carter and Dr. Kay McGowan.
2019 Susan B. Anthony Award winners, Shareia Carter and Dr. Kay McGowan.
2019 Susan B. Anthony Award recipients, Shareia Carter (left), and Dr. Kay McGowan (right).

Congratulations to our 2019 Susan B. Anthony Award recipients!

  • Campus Award: Shareia Carter, M.L.S.
  • Community Award: Dr. Kay McGowan


Shareia Carter is the Director of the Women’s Resource Center (WRC) at UM-Dearborn, where she works collaboratively with internal and external constituents to support women students, faculty, and staff. Her previous career focused on ending domestic and sexual violence at a local non-profit organization. Shareia serves on several committees on campus and in the community, including the ECEC Board, MIACE Women of Color Collaborative, and the Wayne County Counsel Against Family Violence. She is also an active member of numerous national organizations dedicated to the advancement of women, including the National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA), the National Organization for Women (NOW), and the American Association of University Women (AAUW). Shareia loves traveling and spending time with her family. Her pride and joy is being mom to her to ten year old daughter, Peyton.


Kay McGowan (PhD, WSU, 1994) is of Mississippi Choctaw and Cherokee heritage, and has taught Anthropology and Native American Studies at Eastern Michigan University since 1996. Kay co-founded First Step, an organization dedicated to ending domestic violence in Downriver communities, in 1981. She has represented the interests of indigenous peoples at the United Nations, in the Working Group on the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, CERD, and the Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, and testified on water as a human right. She has authored 5 books and over 150 articles. Kay enjoys traveling, art, sewing, Powwows, and spending time with her identical twin Fay Givens, Executive Director of American Indian Services, with whom she produced a documentary film about the memories of survivors of Indian boarding schools. In 2009, Kay was inducted into the Michigan Women's Hall of Fame for her years of activism on behalf of women and native peoples. 

History of the Susan B. Anthony Awards

The first Susan B. Anthony Campus Award was presented at a Luncheon in 1979. The Susan B. Anthony Community Award was established in 2004. Annually, we celebrate the recipients of these awards at the Susan B. Anthony Awards Dinner. The event includes appetizers, dinner, and a silent auction that benefits the Commission for Women's programs, such as the Supplemental Professional Development Fund.

We honor all of the Susan B. Anthony past award recipients.

Back to top of page