Carnegie Classification

In 2015, the University of Michigan-Dearborn proudly earned the Carnegie Foundation Elective Community Engagement Classification. We are 1 of 6 higher education institutions in the state of Michigan to hold this classification.


About the Classification

Carnegie Foundation logo and Office of Community Engaged Learning

The Carnegie Foundation's Classification for Community Engagement is an elective classification. Classification is a years long process including data collection and documentation of important aspects of institutional mission, identity and commitments, and requires substantial effort invested by participating institutions. 

The classification is not an award, rather, it is an "evidence-based documentation of institutional practice to be used in a process of self-assessment and quality improvement".  The documentation is reviewed to determine whether the institution qualifies for recognition as a community engaged institution. 

Currently, a total of 357 campuses have the Community Engagement Classification.

What is "community engagement"? 

According to the Carnegie Foundation, "Community engagement describes collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity."


Learn more about The Elective Classification for Community Engagement.

The Road to Reclassification - 2026 Cycle

After earning the Carnegie Elective Classification for Community Engagement in 2015, University of Dearborn is due to re-classify by 2026. 

Office of Community-Engaged Learning

Suite 1100, First Floor - Ford Collaboratory - Mardigian Library
4901 Evergreen Rd
Dearborn, MI 48128
View on Map