Elementary Level-Based Certification

Prepares you for K-5 self-contained classroom teaching in the State of Michigan

The College of Education, Health, and Human Services offers 6 different majors that lead to a level-based Elementary Teacher Certification. Level-based certification programs are being phased out by the Michigan Department of Education and should only be pursued by students who can student teach by the Winter 2025 semester. The Michigan Test for Teacher Certification associated with this program (Elementary Education #103) will no longer be available after July 2026. If you are unable to take and pass the certification exam for this program by July 2026, you risk not being able to become certified to teach.

Students pursuing level-based Elementary Teacher Certification must select on of the 6 possible majors, all of which lead to K-5th grade self-contained classroom teaching. Each major represents a different area of specialty:

  • Early Childhood- prepares you to specialize in working with children birth to kindergarten including early intervention strategies.
  • Integrated Science- prepares you to teach science specific classes in 6-8th grade.
  • Language Arts- prepares you to teach English, language arts specific classes in 6-8th grade.
  • Mathematics Studies- prepares you to teach math specific classes in 6-8th grade.
  • Reading- prepares you to provide children with remedial reading services and teaching reading classes.
  • Social Studies- prepares you to teach social studies specific classes in 6-8th grade.

By clicking on one of the 6 majors you will be taken to a new page that offers more information about each specific specialty area.

Contact Information

CEHHS Office for Student Success
2150 Social Science Building (SSB)
[email protected]