The concentration program in chemistry at the University of Michigan-Dearborn is fully accredited by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

This program is designed primarily for students who intend to go into chemistry as a profession or who plan to continue their studies at the graduate level. A student may earn a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry by completing the prerequisite, concentration, and cognate courses listed herein and by fulfilling CASL distribution and graduation requirements.

Students may choose to pursue a major or a minor in chemistry. 

Chemistry Discipline Chair: Dr. Krisanu Bandyopadhyay

Concentration Advisors (ACS): Dr. Daniel Lawson and Dr. Ogie Stewart

Learn more about CASL Degree Requirements.

COVID-19 Update

Our laboratories will offer a combination of virtual experience, simulation and demonstration to provide as close to a true laboratory experience as possible.

Students taking Chemistry, Biology, Physics or Geology can expect a rigorous curriculum that will provide both lecture and laboratory experience yet maintain social distancing.

Student Clubs & Organizations

Chemistry students may also be interested in other clubs and organizations in Natural Sciences, throughout CASL, and across campus.

Department of Natural Sciences

114 - Science Faculty Center
4901 Evergreen Road
Dearborn, MI 48128
View on Map
Phone: 313-593-5277
Fax: 313-593-4937