Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, UM-Dearborn classes are being held remotely through the end of the semester, Summer I and Summer II. Most campus operations are being conducted remotely and buildings are closed. Before coming to campus please call ahead to determine how services are being delivered. Events have been postponed or canceled, including Spring 2020 Commencement. Pass/fail decision date extended to May 5. For more updates please visit the Coronavirus information page

William E. Stirton Professorship Overview & Past Recipients

The William E. Stirton Professorship is awarded for a five-year term to an active tenured faculty member at the rank of professor. The recipient of this award is evaluated by faculty peers and must be extraordinarily distinguished in scholarly activity, teaching and professional service. The Professorship was established in 1979 and is named for University of Michigan Vice President who became the first director of the Dearborn campus, serving from 1959-68.


  • Qiang Zhu, Computer and Information Science, 2017-2022
  • Jonathan Smith, Literature, Philosophy and the Arts, 2012-2017
  • P.K. Mallick, Mechanical Engineering, 2007-2012
  • Barry Bogin, Anthropology, 2004-09
  • Sidney Bolkosky, History, 1999-04
  • Daniel Moerman, Anthropology, 1994-99
  • Claude Summers, English Literature, 1989-94
  • Ted-Larry Pebworth, English Literature, 1989-94
  • Tsing Yen Na, Mechanical Engineering, 1984-89
  • Peter Amann, History, 1979-84
Back to top of page