Graduate Subcommittee

Graduate Subcommittee Charge & Membership

The Graduate Subcommittee shall be a standing subcommittee of the University Curriculum and Degree Committee of the UM-Dearborn Faculty Senate. The Subcommittee's responsibilities include reviewing, offering suggestions for revision, and recommending action to the Provost on new or modified graduate degree and certificate programs. It also has the responsibility to review, offer suggestions for revision, and recommend action to the Provost on new or modified graduate course proposals from the academic units. In addition, the Subcommittee may address issues presented to it by the Associate Provost for Graduate Programs, the Director of Graduate Studies, and graduate program directors from the colleges. Finally, the Subcommittee may set policies and procedures related to campus-wide issues of graduate education dealing with programs, admissions concerns, student retention matters, and scholarships. (See the motion establishing structure and membership of the Graduate Subcommittee.) 

Graduate Subcommittee Membership Structure

Graduate Subcommittee Chair, Associate Provost of Graduate Programs

Voting Members:
Two appointed faculty representatives from each college (8)
One Faculty Senate representative serving a one-year term (1)
One student representative serving a one-year term (1)

Subcommittee Advisors (non-voting):
The University Registrar or designee (1)
The Library Director or designee (1)
The Director of Graduate Studies or designee (1)
The Director of Admissions & Orientation or designee (1)
Chief Assessment Officer or designee (1)
The Institutional Research and Effectiveness Director or designee (1)
Marketing Manager or designee (1) 

Graduate Subcommittee Members

Armen Zakarian, Vice Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies (Graduate Subcommittee Chair)

Maureen Linker, Associate Provost for Graduate, International and Online Learning (Graduate Subcommittee Vice Chair)

Stein Brunvand, Chair of CEHHS Curriculum Committee (ex officio)
Claudia Kocher, Chair of COB Grad Curriculum Committee (ex officio)
Marie Waung, Chair of CASL Curriculum Committee (ex officio)
Di Ma, Chair of CECS Curriculum Committee (ex officio)

Paul Fossum, CEHHS Faculty (F22 - W24)
Vivek Singh, COB Faculty (F23 - W24)
Dewey Jung, CECS Faculty (F23 - W25)
Kevin Early, CASL Faculty (F22 - W24)

Vadym Pyrozhenko, Faculty Senate Representative (one-year term; F23 - W24)

Student Government Representative (one-year term; F23 - W24)


Fall 2023 Meeting Dates



Thursday, September 14, 2023

Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Thursday, September 28, 2023

Last meeting to submit course changes/program modifications for Winter 2024 term

Wednesday, September 20, 2023

Thursday, October 12, 2023

Wednesday, October 4, 2023

Thursday, October 26, 2023

Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Thursday, November 9, 2023 Wednesday, November 1, 2023

Thursday, November 30, 2023

Last meeting to submit course changes/program modifications for Summer 2024 term

Wednesday, November 22, 2023



Winter 2024 Meeting Dates



Thursday, January 18, 2024

Wednesday, January 10, 2024

Thursday, February 1, 2024

Wednesday, January 24, 2024

Thursday, February 15, 2024

Last meeting to submit course changes for Fall 2024 term

Wednesday, February 7, 2024
Thursday, March 7, 2024 Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Thursday, March 21, 2024 Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Thursday, April 4, 2024

Wednesday, March 27, 2024
Thursday, April 18, 2024 Wednesday, April 10, 2024



2023- 2024 MASU Meeting Dates

Submission Deadline

Friday, October 20, 2023 Friday, September 8, 2023
Friday, January 12, 2024 Friday, December 1, 2023
Friday, April 12, 2024 Friday, March 1, 2024
Thursday & Friday, June 6 & 7, 2024 Friday, April 26, 2024



Approval Deadlines