Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate, Council, and Congress

The UM-Dearborn faculty governance structure, established by Campus Bylaws in 1993 (see Sections III, IV, and V, revised 2014), consists of three bodies:

The Faculty Senate is composed of 19 elected faculty representatives with three-year terms, plus ten ex officio members, including the Chancellor, the Provost, the Student Government president, one emeritus-at-large faculty member, two lecturer-at-large representatives, and the campus's four representatives to the University-wide Senate Assembly. The Senate serves as the legislative arm of the Faculty Congress, and it is authorized to make recommendations to the Provost, Chancellor, and Board of Regents. Actions of the Senate have the effect of an action of the Faculty Congress unless they are revoked by Congress. The Senate normally meets once a month from September through June.

The Faculty Senate Council is composed of the Chair and Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate, four elected Senate members, and the Chancellor and Provost. The Council membership must include at least one Senate member from each College. The Council acts as an agent of the Senate and advises the Provost and Chancellor on an interim basis until matters requiring Senate action can be placed before the Senate or Faculty Congress. The Council also serves as a liaison between the Senate and the Provost and Chancellor. The Council normally meets once a month from September through June.

The Faculty Congress is composed of the governing faculty and deans of the colleges, the senior officers of the campus, and the professional librarians and curators. It is authorized to consider any subject pertaining to the interests of the campus and to make recommendations to the Chancellor and the Board of Regents. The Faculty Congress normally meets once a year, usually in March. 

Some confusion arises from the different uses of "Senate" and "Senate Assembly" between UM-Dearborn and the University of Michigan as a whole.  By Regents' Bylaws, Chapter IV (revised 2018), the entire governing faculty for the University as a whole (all three campuses) is described as "University Senate" and the representative body for the University as a whole (all three campuses) is called "Senate Assembly." The current Dearborn faculty representatives for Senate Assembly are:

  • Hani Bawardi  (term expires 04/2022) 
  • Yi-Su Chen (term expires 04/2020)
  • J. Caitlin Finlayson (term expires 04/2020)
  • Kirk Philipich (term expires 04/2021)
  • Joy Beatty is also serving as chair of Senate Assembly and Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) (term expires 04/2021)

On the Dearborn campus, the governing faculty comprise "Faculty Congress" and their representative body is called "Faculty Senate."  The UM-Dearborn Faculty Senate and Faculty Congress are not prescribed by the Regents' Bylaws but were formed in agreement with the senior officers of the University of Michigan-Dearborn. The Flint campus has a separate faculty governance structure.

Back to top of page