Early Childhood Program Committee

The Early Childhood Program Committee (ECPC) serves as an Executive Committee for the Early Childhood Education Center.  It is chaired by the ECEC director.  It is concerned with the academic functions of the ECEC and its relationship to the overall College of Education and Health and Human Services (CEHHS) and the Early Childhood Program. 

The committee deals with such issues as teacher preparation and child studies at the ECEC, as well as program evaluation, and curriculum development.  It also reviews and acts on parent petitions for exceptions to ECEC regulations on admission, tuition, etc. and makes recommendations on all aspects of Early Childhood Education Center functions.  This committee negotiates difficulties and differences that arise between students, parents and teachers. 

Committee members include the teachers of the classrooms, ECEC administrative staff and the cooperating CEHHS faculty members.

ECEC Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is appointed by the dean of The College of Education, Health, and Human Services (CEHHS), is chaired by the Center director and is composed of representatives of Center parents, the campus community, the outside community and the Center staff.  It meets at least three times per school year to review Center operations and to advise the Center administration on policy matters.  It also serves as a link between the CEHHS, the parents of children enrolled at the Center and the campus community.

2017-2018 Advisory Board Members

Joshua Akers
CASL Assistant Professor of Social Sciences & ECEC Parent
jmakers@umich.edu

Carol & George Allard
ECEC Parent & CEF Family
allardg@live.com

Rayna Anderson
UM-Dearborn Academic and Resident Program
raynaqa@umich.edu

Eric Bacyinski
M Engage Director
ebacyins@umich.edu

Jennifer Bauer
CEHHS, Lecturer
jcbauer@umich.edu

Shareia Carter
Director of Women's Resource Center
snc@umich.edu

Jill Chochol
Executive Director Elementary at Dearborn Public Schools
chochoj@dearbornschools.org

Emily Cooprider
ECEC Administrative Assistant
egcoop@umich.edu

Sarah Davey
ECEC Interim Site Director, CEHHS Lecturer in Education Operations
scdavey@umich.edu

Kathy Filipiak
ECEC Site Director
kathfili@umich.edu

Ivy Forsythe-Brown
CASL Associate Professor of Sociology & Anthropology
ivyfb@umich.edu

Marni Hickey
Beaumont CEF Supervisor of Pediatric Rehabilitation
marni.hickey@beaumont.org

Dara Hill
CEHHS Associate Professor of Education Operations
kirdara@umich.edu

Seong Hong
ECEC Faculty Director 2012 - 2017
seong@umich.edu

Noel Hornbacher
UM-Dearborn Director of Financial Services
noelhorn@umich.edu

Sally Howell
CASL, Associate Professor History/Director of the Center for Arab American Studies
sfhowell@umich.edu

Ann Lampkin-Williams
Dean, College of Education, Health, and Human Services
lampkin@umich.edu

Michael Latvis
UM-Dearborn Government Relations Manager
latvism@umich.edu

Michelle Leonard
CASL Psychology Professor & Former ECEC Parent
mtleon@umich.edu

Marilyn Miller
ECEC Special Needs Liaison
marilyna@umich.edu

Judith Modelski
Assistant to the Vice Chancellor Environmental Management & Student Life
judithmm@umich.edu

Eniso Ngwenya
ECEC Parent
emngwenya@gmail.com

Line Van Nieuwstadt
CECS, Associate Professor of Engineering Practice
linevn@umich.edu

Michelle O'Connor-Teklinski
Beaumont CEF Assistant Director
michelle.o'connor-teklinski@beaumont.org

Natalie & Ryan Reese
ECEC Parents & Parent Association President
nbrookin@gmail.com

Dawn Roult
UM-Dearborn Assistant Controller
dkross@umich.edu

Rana Saad
ECEC Parent & Former UM-Dearborn Education Student
saadr@dearbornschools.org

Raya Samet
CEHHS, Librarian
rsamet@umich.edu

Crystal Scott
COB, Associate Professor, Marketing
cjscott@umich.edu

Ann Serra
UM-Dearborn Foundation Relations
annserra@umich.edu

Nitya Sethuraman
CASL Associate Professor of Psychology
nitya@umich.edu

LaShorage Shaffer
Associate Professor, Early Childhood
lshaffe@umich.edu

Isha Smith
ECEC Financial Specialist
ishayvet@umich.edu

David Susko
Director, Environmental Interpretive Center
dsusko@umich.edu

Parent Association Committee

As a parent or guardian of a child enrolled in the ECEC you are automatically a member of the ECEC Parent Association. The Parent Association is recognized as having a special interest in the Center's operation. All Center parents are encouraged to participate in the Parent Association. The Association is an advocate for Center parent interests, has representatives on the Early Childhood Education Center Advisory Board, and contributes services and funds to the Center on a voluntary basis. In addition, the Parent Association awards scholarship funds annually to ECEC families.

2019-2020 Parent Association Board Members

Vanessa McLean-Bandli
President
umd-ececpa@umich.edu

Vice President
umd-ececpa@umich.edu

Kara Terrault-Triplett
Treasurer
umd-ececpa@umich.edu

Secretary
umd-ececpa@umich.edu

Early Childhood Education Center

Early Childhood Education Center (ECEC)
Back to top of page