Writing Awards

The University of Michigan-Dearborn Writing Awards promote and recognize excellence in writing among undergraduates.

2023 writing awards
2023 Writing Awards
Awards will be made in the following categories:
  • Poetry
  • Bill Linn Fiction Prize
  • Researched Writing
  • Creative Non-fiction
  • Writing Through Image and Sound
  • Writing in the Public Sphere
  • First-Year Writing
  • Honors Writing
  • Scientific/Technical Writing

$7,500 in total awards. Awards are made possible by the Office of the Provost and the UM-Dearborn Annual Fund.

The Bill Linn Fiction Prize is funded by the family of Professor Bill Linn as a tribute to his love of literature and teaching. The family hopes award recipients treasure their gift of writing and use it to enrich the lives of others.