Recognizing Excellence

Every year, a number of engineering and computer science students are honored for their achievements in academics, community service, and competitions. Please join us in recognizing and congratulating them on their success.

The Dean's List

Students with a semester GPA of 3.5 or above in at least twelve credits of degree courses are placed on the Dean's List. Students with a final cumulative GPA between 3.2 and 3.59 graduate with distinction; those with 3.6 or above graduate with high distinction. Contact the Advising Office for more information.

Distinguished Graduate Student Research Award

The College of Engineering and Computer Science recognizes graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research. A faculty member may nominate any student currently enrolled in a graduate program at CECS. Each winter, up to three winners will be recognized with a signed certificate from the dean and a $1,000 award. Nominations must be submitted to the Dean's Office by December 1st.

Meet the 2017 Award Winners:

  • Hanzhang Wang, doctoral student, computer and information science (Advisor: Dr. Marouane Kessentini): Hanzhang Wang is a member of the search based software engineering research Lab. He is working on improving the quality of Web services. In less than two years, he published several papers in the top tier I venues of services computing (ICWS, ICSOC, IEEE Transactions on Services Computing, ACM Transactions on the Web, etc.). One of his papers is selected among the top 3 papers at ICWS and invited for a journal extension. He is the entrepreneurial lead (EL) of his advisor’s NSF I-Corps project to commercialize the technology developed as part of his research and he implemented a scheduling prototype for Ford as part of another funded project. 

  • Mao Ye, doctoral student, automotive systems engineering (Advisor: Dr. Ya Sha Yi): Mao Ye joined Dr. Yi’s research lab, he has published 7 top journal papers and given 2 presentations at major international conferences in his field. His research achievements have made us the leading research group in the world in this cutting edge integrated micro-lens area, which is potential for a series of applications on solar cells, bio-medical imaging, display and solid state Lidar for autonomous driving.

  • Xuan Zhang, doctoral student, automotive systems engineering (Advisor: Dr. Oleg Zikanov): Xuan Zhang has just defended her dissertation in the Automotive Systems Engineering Program. Her research project is on the subject of thermal convection and heat transfer in flows of liquid metals subjected to extremely strong magnetic fields. In the course of numerical simulations, she has explored the paradoxical and counterintuitive behavior of such flows and identified far-reaching consequences for advanced energy technologies.

UM-Dearborn Honors Scholars

The Honor Scholars Awards are organized by the Provost's Office and recipients are recognized at the Honors Convocation:

"The Honor Scholar Award is presented each year to the one active undergraduate student per degree program with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of 90 credit hours earned by Fall term. Award recognition is also presented to one active graduate student per degree major with at least a 3.7 cumulative grade point average and a minimum of three-quarters of their program completed by the end of Fall term. The student, selected by the respective discipline faculty, also meets other criteria established by department, school or college including contributions to the discipline through research and service activities such as tutoring, mentoring and leadership in discipline based student organizations."

  • Bioengineering: Lukas Aaron Underwood
    Computer Engineering: Jeff Kibbe
    Computer and Information Science: Paul Katarzis 
    Electrical Engineering: Aaron Ward
    Industrial and Systems Engineering: Brigitte Hutter
    Mechanical Engineering: Brandon Michael Schwartz
    Manufacturing Engineering: Keith Cardillo
    Robotics Engineering: Benjamin Pollatz
    Software Engineering: Ryan Bisson
    Graduate Program in Automotive Systems Engineering: Sahil Nagpal
    Graduate Program in Computer Engineering: Daniel Luedtke
    Graduate Program in Computer and Information Science: Simrandeep Kaur
    Graduate Program in Electrical Engineering: Jamal Alezzani
    Graduate Program in Engineering Management: Alireza Mohammadi
    Graduate Program in Industrial and Systems Engineering: Khaled Almahshi
    Graduate Program in Information Systems and Technology: Urvi Patel
    Graduate Program in Mechanical Engineering: Monica Ann DuBois
    Graduate Program in Program and Project Management: Haider Aljumaili
    Graduate Program in Software Engineering: Thomas Green