About the Department

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), which is responsible for administering the Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering programs, has about 325 students enrolled in the sophomore through senior years. Each year approximately 60 - 70 students graduate with a Bachelor's degree in EE/CE and about 20 students graduate with a master's degree in EE/CE.

We are proud of our high retention rate which exceeds 60%. While most of the graduates go on to work in industry often in a design and development environment, a few pursue full-time graduate studies at regional and national universities.

How to Reach Us

During the Fall 2021 semester we will be conducting university business remotely and in-person by appointment only.

To schedule an in-person appointment, please email us at umd-ecegrad@umich.edu. To better assist you, please provide the reason for your visit in your initial email. During your visit, please remember to wear your mask and maintain social distancing. Only one visitor will be allowed admittance to our office at a time. Only those with appointments will be seen. Drop-in visits are not available at this time. 

  • Face coverings are required for all students, staff, faculty and visitors regardless of vaccination status.
  • Before coming to campus, all UM-Dearborn faculty, staff and students must complete the ResponsiBLUE daily health screening. All guests to campus must complete the ResponsiBLUE Guest.

Undergraduate students in need of advising should refer to the Undergraduate Advising page for scheduling options.

Our contact information and location are below.

Our in-person office hours are:

Monday, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

To schedule an appointment with your graduate program advisor, refer to the contact information on the Graduate Advising page. To schedule an appointment with your course instructor, refer to your course syllabus for the best ways to meet with them.

Launching Fall 2021: Stackable Graduate Certificates in Electrical Power Engineering

Beginning in Fall 2021, the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department will begin offering several graduate certificate programs in electrical power engineering. These new certificates were developed to meet the evolving needs in energy and electrification sectors, and to provide industry professionals an opportunity to acquire expertise in a particular focus area, such as:

  • Electrical System Protection & Control
  • Electrical System Equipment
  • Electrical System Planning
  • Electrical System Analytics

Each certificate consists of three courses (nine credit hours per certificate), all of which are considered stackable and can be applied toward a Master of Science & Engineering degree in Electrical Engineering following a student's successful application and admission to a degree-seeking program. Applicants for each of these certificate programs must possess an undergraduate degree in an engineering discipline with an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher. A maximum of two stackable certificates can be used towards earning an ECE graduate degree program.

These certificate programs will provide a comprehensive education in power engineering, a field that is in high demand in Southeast Michigan, that is directly applicable to a career in industry, suitable for new or recent graduates, as well as experienced professionals seeking additional training in new and emerging areas. The certificate can be completed entirely on campus or online, or through a combination of on-campus and online courses.

For more information on these forthcoming electrical power engineering certificates, please see this information sheet.

For more information on CECS Graduate Program certificates and admission requirements for degree-seeking and non-degree seeking students, visit the CECS Certificates page.

Advisory Board

The Department continually seeks outside interactions with business, industries, and government through its Industrial Advisory Board. Our advisory board is composed of industry professionals who provide input on curriculum, potential employment for students, research opportunities for faculty, and a perspective on future challenges requiring collaboration. 

Meet our advisory board members:

Robb Black


Paul Decker

Army Futures Command

Mike Godwin

OSRAM Opto Semiconductors Inc.

Jamie Hertza

ZF Global Electronics

William Hutter


Miles Johnson


Deok-Hyun Lee

LS Electric

Dr. Il-hyung (Steve) Lim

LS Electric



John Locke

Ford Motor Company

Monika Minarcin


John O'Donnell

DTE Energy

Paul J. (P.J.) Renko

Ford Motor Company

Robert Sadowski


Alex Simonov

ZF Global Electronics

Rajeev Thakur

Velodyne Lidar, Inc

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Institute for Advanced Vehicle Systems (IAVS)
Back to top of page